Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Closed Thread

Old 12-07-2018, 01:32 AM
Decaying Skeleton

Default Absolute EQ beginner here.

Hey guys! I'm finally getting around to trying out Everquest! I never had a chance back then to play it (or any MMO, really. Thanks, rural internet providers [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]) but now that my cousin has introduced me to P99, and told me about Pantheon being in development, this seems like the perfect time to take the plunge. Just have to apply for the IP exemption so we can both play at the same time.

See you all out there!
Old 12-13-2018, 09:07 AM
Planar Protector

Remember the pelvic trust! Merry xxxmas ya'll
Old 12-13-2018, 01:46 PM
Banned

You live with your cousin?

IP exemptions can take a while.
Old 12-13-2018, 02:07 PM
Planar Protector

This is honestly a bad first foray into MMO's. Unless you have nostalgia for this game I can only imagine how unplayable it would be. The lower levels are brutal and tedious for new players and I honestly cant imagine someone being able to make it through having NEVER played EQ before.

I guess I say that to say this - don't let your first impressions of the shity UI, clunky controls, complete lack of direction, and 1999 graphics turn you off. You will have to fight through it at first, but if you do then you too can become a powerful Elf Lord.
Frostbane Wolfeye - Green99 - 54 Shaman
Cruetraxa Macequest - Green99 - 60 Necromancer
Snowleopard Wu'Tong - Green99 - 60 Monk
Lobsterhands - Green99 - 55 Cleric
#FreeWuTang
Old 12-13-2018, 02:44 PM
Banned

I was very young back in '99 and only got a character to level 14 before I was banned (for calling an Erudite a....name)

Nostalgia still motivated me to play and when I first started P99, I probably sat there for 10+ minutes listening to the backpack opening/closing sound.