Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-01-2017, 01:54 PM
Olarin Olarin is offline
Scrawny Gnoll


Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 27
Default Random Quick Freezing with Mobs around.

Anyone have any ideas what might have caused this issue? Started late last week.

I'll get random screen freezes that just last for a millisecond whenever mobs are around me. Can just be one mob the results are the same. I'll be turning and notice the quick freeze and then i'll be facing with my back to the mob. It will happen continually until everything is dead then the freezes will go away.

Doesn't seem to happen at all with player characters only npc's.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-01-2017, 03:20 PM
Tupakk Tupakk is offline
Planar Protector


Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,910
Default

What's your fps sitting at if higher than 30 adjust to 30
__________________

Tupakk-57 Bard(Raid Whore)Afeni-45 Druid (Dial a Port Leadership) |Forums|Facebook| Lumumba-60 Rogue(DaP Security)/(Nocterma Member) & Department of Fun Promoter
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-01-2017, 03:43 PM
Aadill Aadill is offline
Planar Protector

Aadill's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,137
Default

Do you have an SSD? I've noticed mine starts going crazy when some other background process might be running (Antivirus or similar) and all of the sudden EQ shutters like you wouldn't believe.

Another alternative is that you might be experiencing issues with multiple CPU cores, but that would "just start last week," so that's pretty unlikely.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2017, 05:01 PM
Olarin Olarin is offline
Scrawny Gnoll


Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 27
Default

I generally keep my Max FPS in game set to 52 as I found that to be a comfortable setting. I can try lowering that to 30.

Yes I have a SSD, haven't noticed anything running in the background new recently. But yeah it's a recent development, never had this problem before coupled with the odd behavior of only NPC's creating the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2017, 05:02 PM
Ashintar Ashintar is offline
Fire Giant


Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 791
Default

if you have logs on, are you excluding your EQ directory from AV real time scanning?
__________________


Drumas - 60 Cleric
Ashintar - 60 Wizard
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2017, 05:41 PM
Olarin Olarin is offline
Scrawny Gnoll


Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 27
Default

Ooo that's a good call, I think this might have started when I started parsing logs. Let me check that tonight!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-02-2017, 01:38 PM
dafier dafier is offline
Planar Protector


Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Buried in a cove.
Posts: 1,380
Default

http://www.amd.com/en-us/products/memory/ramdisk

There is a free version. The EQ folder is less than 4GB so the free version will work. And, you can slim down the EQ folder even more by deleting zone files that don't exist in P99.

I had this problem even with an SSD (fast NAND, not crappy). WinEQ2 fixed a lot of stuff, then that AMD Ramdisk cleared everything up.
__________________
Rebbon - BDA
Happy Epic Mage
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-02-2017, 05:42 PM
Triiz Triiz is offline
Fire Giant


Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 578
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dafier [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
http://www.amd.com/en-us/products/memory/ramdisk

There is a free version. The EQ folder is less than 4GB so the free version will work. And, you can slim down the EQ folder even more by deleting zone files that don't exist in P99.

I had this problem even with an SSD (fast NAND, not crappy). WinEQ2 fixed a lot of stuff, then that AMD Ramdisk cleared everything up.
I've been having a ton of problems with crashing, mostly while looting corpses, so I tried this^^ figuring I had nothing to lose. Holy shit does EQ load fast now. From server select to character select is so fast the theme music doesn't even have a chance to start.

Not sure if it will fix my crashing, but solid suggestion either way thanks Dafier.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-03-2017, 01:40 AM
Skew Skew is offline
Fire Giant


Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 727
Default

If you run logs on and havent emptied those folders where that info piles up it will cause issues. go empty the log file for your toon and see if that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-03-2017, 10:32 AM
Olarin Olarin is offline
Scrawny Gnoll


Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 27
Default

The log files were indeed my culprit! Thanks Ashintar for the correct guess and everyone else for the suggestions as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.