C 4 17.39%
C++ 15 65.22%
C# 9 39.13%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 23. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread

Old 06-22-2012, 09:48 PM
Sarnak

Smile C vs. C++ vs. C#

Hi. I am a computer scientist. This is a comparison of memory usage for a simple hello world application between C, C++, and C#. Compiled VS2010 32-bit x86 Release.

PHP Code:
// C#
// 1,968k
using System;

namespace 
hellonet
{
    class 
Program

{
        static 
void Main(string[] args)
        {

System.Console.Write("hello world");

System.Console.ReadKey();
        }
    }

PHP Code:
// C++
// 640k
#include <iostream>

int main(int argccharargv[])
{

std::cout << "hello world";

std::cin.get();
    return 
0;

PHP Code:
// C
// 484k
#include <stdio.h>

int main(int argccharargv[])
{

printf("hello world");

getchar();
    return 
0;

As you can see, C# uses 5x as much memory as C and 3x more than C++ just for a simple hello world application. And M$ is writing Windows.Next kernel in this managed language.

Rogean you can thank me for the adsense money from the future googlers that will find this site (as applies to all of my insights made here).

In your unfailing love, silence my enemies; destroy all my foes, for I am your servant.
Blessed be the LORD my strength, who teaches my hands for war, and my fingers to fight.
(Psalms 143:12-144:1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harrison View Post
To be fair he is making $$, which I can't fault him for. If cheating gets you real money, go for it. Real money > pixels.
[10:53] <@Amelinda> he grabbed my ass and then i broke his nose.
Old 06-22-2012, 09:59 PM
Sarnak

Note: I was using the MS C compiler for the C code. Bjarne Strassoup (creator of C++) said that hello world should generate literally same code. So I copied the C code and compiled with MS C++ compiler and it was 488k.

interdasting

In your unfailing love, silence my enemies; destroy all my foes, for I am your servant.