Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Off Topic

Closed Thread

Old 05-15-2019, 01:56 AM
Planar Protector

Default Dungeon crawler RPG like EQ

I started playing a game called Exanima about 1.5 years ago. It's a top down RPG dungeon crawler that I wish there was more of. It's still in development, but even as unfinished as it is, it beats games like d3 and poe to high heaven.

Some great points about Exanima are:

Realistic combat and physics
No map, so you'll focus on combat and exploring and not on an overlayn map.
Combat and movement are much slower paced than most games
Each enemy is dangerous by itself and can take a minute or more to defeat.
There is no HP regeneration, so if you get badly hurt, you won't recover.
Fighting against multiple enemies is extremely challenging. 2 opponents is difficult, 3 is near impossible, 4 is certain death.
The visual effects aren't over the top. It's a low fantasy game, so while there is some magic potions and monsters, it's not a constant barge of spell particles.
It can easily take several hours to clear one floor/level.

Contrast that with D3 or POE;

Map overlay is constantly up, of course you can always turn it off but for reasons below, it doesn't really matter.
Combat and movement is so fast that you hardly have a chance to see what your fighting.
You can kill 40 mobs in 3 seconds with combat/spell effects that cover the whole screen.
Enemies, even bosses are easy to kill
There really is no penalty to taking damage. Just drink more endless potions or easily TP to town.
The visual effects are blindingly obnoxious to a point where you can't even see the world around you.
Clearing levels can be done in a matter of minutes.