Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-09-2019, 10:41 AM
ralyn ralyn is offline
Orc


Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 42
Default Char Select Screen - No Characters

When i log on my account, and get to the character select screen, all I see for the 8 character slots is "Create a new character". I know if the files are outdated, you get the message that your files are outdated, but that's not what it is. I have even downloaded the 50d patch again and installed it, to no avail.

What's even more odd, is that this is only happening on 1 account (my main account of course), but I can log on other accounts and it works just fine.

Any ideas?
__________________
Siahen - 60 Iksar Monk - Azure Guard
Mythias - 52 High Elf Cleric - Azure Guard
Ashlaya K'Valor - 51 Dark Elf Enchanter - Azure Guard
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-2019, 11:29 AM
FungusTrooper FungusTrooper is offline
Kobold

FungusTrooper's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: i showed you my pick please respond
Posts: 120
Default

Dumb question, but you sure it's the right server? Hear me out...

When I load the game, Blue is auto-selected, but if I just hit "connect" (or the "connect to last server" button), 50% of the time it'll actually load a random server, hence empty character slots.

If I click another server, then back to blue, then hit connect, it works 100% of the time.

That's the only experience I've had with worryingly empty character select screens.
__________________
I have too many alts. Here they are.

~Famalin Wisdomseed - High Elf Wizard - Quellious - 99 to 01~
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-2019, 11:31 AM
ralyn ralyn is offline
Orc


Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FungusTrooper [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Dumb question, but you sure it's the right server? Hear me out...

When I load the game, Blue is auto-selected, but if I just hit "connect" (or the "connect to last server" button), 50% of the time it'll actually load a random server, hence empty character slots.

If I click another server, then back to blue, then hit connect, it works 100% of the time.

That's the only experience I've had with worryingly empty character select screens.
Well, I did not do those exact steps, but will try it, but yes, I make sure the Blue server is highlighted. Will try your suggestion though, thanks!
__________________
Siahen - 60 Iksar Monk - Azure Guard
Mythias - 52 High Elf Cleric - Azure Guard
Ashlaya K'Valor - 51 Dark Elf Enchanter - Azure Guard
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-2019, 11:55 AM
Deathrydar Deathrydar is offline
Fire Giant

Deathrydar's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 897
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FungusTrooper [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Dumb question, but you sure it's the right server? Hear me out...

When I load the game, Blue is auto-selected, but if I just hit "connect" (or the "connect to last server" button), 50% of the time it'll actually load a random server, hence empty character slots.

If I click another server, then back to blue, then hit connect, it works 100% of the time.

That's the only experience I've had with worryingly empty character select screens.
Yup! This happened to me the other day and that quick connect option was the cause.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-2019, 12:23 PM
ralyn ralyn is offline
Orc


Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 42
Default

So I tried the method, seemed to work once ... crashed on zoning, came back and still the same original problem
__________________
Siahen - 60 Iksar Monk - Azure Guard
Mythias - 52 High Elf Cleric - Azure Guard
Ashlaya K'Valor - 51 Dark Elf Enchanter - Azure Guard
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-09-2019, 01:24 PM
Deathrydar Deathrydar is offline
Fire Giant

Deathrydar's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 897
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ralyn [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
So I tried the method, seemed to work once ... crashed on zoning, came back and still the same original problem
Is it a certain zone? Or multiple different zones? Is it everytime you zone? Or just sometimes? Can it be duplicated at will? Or is it random?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-09-2019, 02:07 PM
Deathrydar Deathrydar is offline
Fire Giant

Deathrydar's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 897
Default

Have you tried this from the FAQ?

11. I frequently crash while zoning, completely randomly and without warning, is there any way to fix this?

If you find yourself crashing while zoning or logging in constantly, many people have found that this fixes the problem. Also, it seems to make zoning go faster.

Simply go to your options screen and do the following:

EQ Options > Display > Dropdown menu on the top right corner "Loading Screen" change it from "Loading Art" to NONE

Credit goes to DOPE for finding this fix, and it seems to have worked for 90% of the people with this issue. Thanks dope!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:00 AM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.