Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Old 05-01-2021, 01:14 AM
Planar Protector

Default GINA triggers for detrimental effects

So, I'm pretty new to using GINA. Until recently, I only played au naturale p99, using only the default UI and even extremely minimal macros. I just recently installed GINA and spent several hours setting up triggers for a ton of buff timers as well as warning popups, but then I came to detrimental effects.

What I want: duration countdown timers for debuffs (primarily dots, mezzes, and fixed duration debuffs)

The immediate two options that come to mind for tracking debuffs/dots would be:

1) log message when the debuff is applied to a target (can't distinguish between mine and others debuffs)

2) use the start casting message and modify the duration to include the cast time of the spell.

I'm leaning toward option 2, but wondered if there was a better way to show time remaining for detrimental effects. I'm a total GINA noob, so I'm sure there is a ton of stuff that vets know about that I don't.

Somebody school me plz
Old 05-01-2021, 08:05 AM
Planar Protector

I use gamtext triggers, and I am pretty sure the two bullet points are the only way I've ever done what you're asking about.

It usually doesn't matter that much (it can be a pain if you start casting, trigger your timer, get interrupted, etc.)...but usually it works very well.

If your program is doing anything other than reading the log file then it would be against the rules, and I'm pretty sure those are the only two ways you can see that information in a log file. So, I'd be surprised if there was some other way of legally doing it in GINA or another program.