Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2020, 07:35 AM
evelynbb evelynbb is offline
Orc

evelynbb's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 37
Default Crashing a lot. Issue is reproducable. Logs & info inside.

Hey fellas, tl;dr my EQ's been crashing for a few months now, and a lot more than I'm happy with. I've gone through a lot of threads on the net about this same issue, but none of them have come to a concrete resolution and I haven't been able to figure anything out.

Info:
OS: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
GFX card: 2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660
Monitors: SB220Q (1920x1080@75Hz) & S200HL (1600x900@60Hz)
CPU: Intel Core i5 @ 2.90GHz

I'm running WinEQ2 + RAMDisk. Game runs fine outside of the crashes. The crashes generally happen a short while after zoning; OT hammer, death, or even just the initial log-in given enough time. Pre-crash logs are always the same, and I mean always. I've reproduced the following errors quite consistently by making a new character, running up to a guard and getting myself killed by them, then doing it again until I crash. The game will consistently crash after 1-4 cycles of this -- not as I'm loading, but after that as I'm doing anything, even something simple like keyboard turning or walking forwards.

My crash log: https://pastebin.com/JXsqWzWV

Basically, this is looped multiple times before the game completely ceases to function:

2020-09-07 05:56:14 IDirect3DIndexBuffer::Lock() failed.
2020-09-07 05:56:14 CBufferSet::AllocateIndexBuffer() failed.
2020-09-07 05:56:14 CBufferSet::AllocateIndices() failed.
2020-09-07 05:56:14 CRender::CreateBatchDefinitionSimpleModel() failed.

after a few of that, you get this, and quite a few of them as well:

2020-09-07 05:56:14 CRender::CreateBatchDefinitionRegion() failed.
2020-09-07 05:56:14 IDirect3DIndexBuffer::Lock() failed.
2020-09-07 05:56:14 CBufferSet::AllocateIndexBuffer() failed.
2020-09-07 05:56:14 CBufferSet::AllocateIndices() failed.

A google search of "IDirect3DIndexBuffer::Lock()" brings up microsoft documentation for DirectX. Perhaps this has something to do with the version of DirectX being run by default? I feel like this is the best lead.

Other misc. things I've tried in an attempt to fix it which didn't work:

- deleting eqclient.ini
- ensuring that all of the resolutions match up within eqclient.ini
- ensuring that i am using a window resolution native to everquest
- updating graphics drivers
- completely reinstalling EQ
- changing monitor refresh rate to 60 (though this did fix mouse movement issues)
- running eqgame in windows xp (service pack 2) compatibility mode
- using wineq2 to play
- disabling my second monitor
- ensuring my graphics card is set to optimal performance
- sfcscan, repair, DISM
- crying

And... yeah. No dice on this so far. Any tech savvy folk wanna help out?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2020, 10:35 AM
evelynbb evelynbb is offline
Orc

evelynbb's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 37
Default

Update: moofree suggested WineD3D over on reddit. with it, i haven't been able to so effortlessly replicate the crash. i'm about an hour into testing and haven't had any issues thus far -- though, it does seem that WineD3D is incompatible with WinEQ2. regardless, this is the most probable fix i've found thus far and might just be it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2020, 12:51 PM
froomee froomee is offline
Large Bat


Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 11
Default

FWIW here's my Autohotkey script that I've been using in lieu of WinEQ2 or Borderless Gaming.

Running this with WineD3D, it's kinda flashy when alt tabbing in and out, but it's othewise fine, and has been my go-to fullscreen script since I didn't feel like signing up for an account to get WinEQ2 [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]

Upon Ctrl and =, this will move the EQ window to be borderless windowed in a 1440p main screen(which can be adjusted to whatever screen and screen-size you want), and also lock the mouse inside that window until you alt+tab.

However, you're gonna need to give the autohotkey exe admin permissions if running with XP compatbility mode. [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]

Code:
#IfWinActive, ahk_class _EverQuestwndclass
$^=::
WinSet, Style, -0xC00000,a
winmove, ahk_class _EverQuestwndclass, , 0, 0 , 2560, 1440 
clipcursor(winexist("ahk_class _EverQuestwndclass") ? winexist("a") : "")
return
#IfWinActive
 
clipcursor(hwnd := "") {
    static unclip := DllCall("GetCursor")
    if hwnd {
        ;WinHide ahk_class _EverQuestwndclass
        WinGetPos, rx, ry, rw, rh, ahk_id %hwnd%
        WinGet style, style, ahk_id %hwnd%
        if style & 0xc00000 {   ; bordered window, use client area
            SysGet cap, 4       ; caption height
            SysGet bw, 32       ; border width
            SysGet bh, 33       ; border height
            rx += bw, ry += cap, rw -= (bh * 2), rh -= (cap + bh)
        }
        VarSetCapacity(rclip, 16)
        NumPut(rx, &rclip+0)
        NumPut(ry, &rclip+4)
        NumPut(rw + rx, &rclip+8)
        NumPut(rh + ry, &rclip+12)
    } else
        WinShow ahk_class _EverQuestwndclass
    return DllCall("ClipCursor", Ptr, hwnd ? &rclip : &unclip)
}
__________________
Iolth - 55 DE Shadow Knight
Glov- 58 DE Cleric
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-07-2020, 02:13 PM
xaix1999 xaix1999 is offline
Sarnak


Join Date: May 2018
Location: ::1/128
Posts: 370
Default

looks like you are running out of ram, have you tried just running from the disk?

also run dxdiag and figure out your issues or failures with software
you are using dx8 standards to run eq even though you have dx12 (or some such)
try and resolve those issues first
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2020, 02:31 PM
Arvan Arvan is offline
Fire Giant


Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Norrath
Posts: 582
Default

Get a nvme ssd and lose the ramdisk
__________________
Hey CSR When Will PNP Rule 14 Be Enforced?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2020, 02:33 PM
xaix1999 xaix1999 is offline
Sarnak


Join Date: May 2018
Location: ::1/128
Posts: 370
Default

thats not helpful, they might not have a m.2 or u.2 slot OR the money
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-08-2020, 12:32 AM
evelynbb evelynbb is offline
Orc

evelynbb's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 37
Default

Day 2 of testing WineD3D. Have about 5 hours of game time logged and no crashes. Was 100% a DirectX issue caused by more recent windows/nvidia updates.

So yeah, to reiterate, if y'all are having this issue, try WineD3D. Be sure to read the readme thoroughly so you don't brick your PC.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:34 PM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.