Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Class Discussions > Casters

Closed Thread

Old 03-11-2021, 11:30 AM
Fire Giant

Default Necro charming - conga line vs clump

Good morning everyone,

After studying up on the zone, I've been soloing in Howling Stones on my necro for about one level now. I'm sure no one will be surprised to learn that videos from Sessedrix and Rektyu have been very helpful in getting a good idea of what to expect and strategies for the area.

After charming for a level though (ie, I've got some experience but am still figuring it out) I'm not sure I understand the benefit of the "conga line" method of fighting groups of enemies, opposed to just rooting them all in a clump and letting stuff burn down your pet really fast then moving onto the next one.

I'm sure I'm just being a slow study, but what is the advantage to the conga line method, please?

Thank you!
Last edited by Philistine; 03-11-2021 at 11:44 AM..
Old 03-11-2021, 01:08 PM
Aviak

I have only played Enc in HS and the few times I had a bad pull where I had to mass mez it became difficult to keep track of my roots/mezzes when everything was clumped.

What you're saying makes sense: more damage = faster kills. I'm guessing the conga line is an easier way to keep things organized.
Old 03-11-2021, 01:34 PM
Planar Protector

clump 4 life
Old 03-11-2021, 02:13 PM
Sarnak

I've also only done HS on enchanter. Iirc the conga line necromancer demo I watched was from an era where root almost never broke early, I bet that made it more appealing. Seems like it could have been a way to kill the group with fewer charm casts and maybe pace the fight so you end with better mana.

A pacing trick I picked up from a Tecmos video is to just let charmed pets in the clump die (poof) if you either don't have mana to safely xp kill all the mobs or you're pushing the clear rate to get to a named.
Old 03-11-2021, 04:50 PM
Planar Protector

Quote: