Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-15-2021, 02:29 PM
lituviel lituviel is offline
Aviak


Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 84
Default My fix to the screen freeze with game still active in the bacK

It seems like alot of people have the same problem, which is :

Screen freezes, game is still playing in the background. Gotta /q to close it.
Some people report to be able to alt+enter to enter or exit fullscreenmode , it might fix it for some people, not all.

However, I noticed that it appears around or below some dedicated light places, for instance in Skyshrine merchant corridor. I couldn't move in it without 10crashes.

So how I fixed (so far after a few tests no more crashed) mine with the following config:

- 2560x1440 resolution with 144hz refresh rate
- RTX3090 and win10.
- game runs with winEQ2.0.

Main fix is in the eqclient.ini
I modified the setting for these 2 lanes :
MultiPassLighting=0
ShowDynamicLights=FALSE

Since the, no more crashes.
Worth what it worth.
Might fix yours aswell.

peace o/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-16-2021, 12:09 PM
void221 void221 is offline
Orc

void221's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 37
Default

thanks. i will check this too.




.
__________________
"I wonder if you even get any enjoyment out of the game when you worry so much about perfect effectiveness. Maybe you should play something else" - rewinder47
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-21-2021, 04:08 AM
void221 void221 is offline
Orc

void221's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 37
Default

ok ... i have tested this now for 5 days or so .... i played every day some hours eq.
sometimes on my main pc and sometimes on my old one .... never got a freeze yet ...

perhaps this is the solution for that freeze-bug ? for me it seems so...

Windows 10
playing in Windowmode
NO winEQ2.0
running with Windows XP (Service Pack 3)
running in Admin-Mode

pc1:
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
GeForce RTX 2070 SUPER

pc2:
AMD Ryzen 7 1700
GeForce GTX 1070



.
__________________
"I wonder if you even get any enjoyment out of the game when you worry so much about perfect effectiveness. Maybe you should play something else" - rewinder47
Last edited by void221; 07-21-2021 at 04:13 AM.. Reason: ..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-22-2021, 01:41 AM
void221 void221 is offline
Orc

void221's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 37
Default

hi.

i played now 5 day without a freeze with this eqclient.ini changes.

yesterday i also set in the nvidia-systemcontrol "shader cache = off"
today i got a freeze ... [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
perhaps this shader cache thing was it. i will set it back to normal


.
__________________
"I wonder if you even get any enjoyment out of the game when you worry so much about perfect effectiveness. Maybe you should play something else" - rewinder47
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.