Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Green Community > Green Server Chat

Closed Thread

Old 04-02-2020, 12:47 AM
Kobold

Default Altoholism

Fair warning this post will seem kinda weird and unnecessary.

My name is Midoo and I'm an altoholic. I've had two accounts on Blue that are all completely full of characters. When I started playing Everquest in 2017 I figured the best way to get a proper sense of the game is to try every race and every class, and so I did. But as a result I wasted a lot of time just bouncing between character and never got any of them past 20 that year. So I swore off the practice of playing every single class but mastering none. Come 2018 I decided to main a BAR SHM and I'm still very happy with that decision.

The issue remains that I'm both an altoholic AND have mild obsessive compulsive behavior, so I want to figure a way to experience a wide array of playstyles with the least amount of characters possible. In other words, I want to have different alts with completely different roles to play when I'm sick of the others but don't have the patience to level every class I suddenly get the urge to play. So now I'm plotting what my "toon setup" should be

I already experienced support buffing/healing through my Shaman so I can take Druid and Cleric off that list. I have a Shadow Knight tank so I can take Paladin and Warrior off as well.

So I still need to try 1 caster and 1 melee class, at least one of them Iksar so I don't miss out on having an Iksar alt, so the question is what would be less effort to level, Dark Elf Enchanter + Iksar Monk? Or Iksar Necromancer + Barbarian Rogue?

Of these two "toon setups" which would be the least effort overall to level together? Will any of these become obsolete in later expansions?
BAR SHM, OGR SHD, DEF ENC, IKS MNK
BAR SHM, OGR SHD, IKS NEC, BAR ROG

It's 5:39 in the morning. Should I just see a therapist?

21 y/o fantasy nerd - Discord: Midoo#2125
Odym Drekk