Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Old 01-13-2023, 08:26 PM
Decaying Skeleton

Default New guy

Howdy. I'm just starting out and I rolled a Ranger, from what I've read I'll regret that here.
I started on live in 03 when I was 37 and I've been there for 19 years. I finally got bored enough to try something new. You can probably thank Michael's Shenanigans for that, or hate him for it.
Anyway, hello.
Old 01-23-2023, 08:36 PM
Aviak

Welcome back ! Rangers are cool , maybe just not quite what many would roll for a first char. That said , if you're having fun , good enough !
Old 01-24-2023, 03:52 AM
Fire Giant

All melee chars are pretty gear dependant, that's why a lot of people like to start with a caster. That said, pretty nice gear can be attained pretty cheaply nowadays. Most important for a ranger are of course weapons and armor. For less than 100 plats you can get a full set of banded armor, that's "good enough" for a long time. For another 100 plats you can get pretty decent weapons, but supply varies. You should check east commons often when you have the plats.
Old 01-24-2023, 09:36 AM
Sarnak

Which server are you on?
Old 01-24-2023, 11:44 AM
Planar Protector

If you're in it for the long haul, start as a caster. They're cheaper to gear. Level up, learn the zones, and make enough money to twink out a melee.

Enchanter has the most earning potential but is also the highest skillcap.

Necro / mage is fine. Very beginner friendly.

Druid can make money via porting...so you don't have to spend as much time leveling...its just kind of boring.
Old 01-24-2023, 12:23 PM
Banned

My first character was a Rogue.

I was ultimately okay, but it took me forever to get to 60 because Rogues cannot solo at all.

Rangers are in a similar boat. Mainly because they're a Melee class. Melee classes, although good, aren't exactly solo-friendly. Especially when not geared, which a starting character won't be.