Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Rants and Flames

Old 01-13-2023, 09:59 AM
Planar Protector

Cool The truth about MMOS

Quote:
Originally Posted by WokeCat [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I don't actually know that MMOs are addictive for me. Most of the time I feel guilty for not logging in and playing enough. I've been playing on P99 blue for over 3 years and I think my highest level character is level 53? I could easily log out for 3 months and come back.

I'm even worse with WoW, where it's like, I buy a new expac, grind the honor gear, get bored and am done with playing for a few months until I try to rinse and repeat. As an old person it takes a lot of motivation to want to play an MMO in addictive fashion.

I think that's part of the appeal with a game like OW 2 or League of Legends, you don't have to dump a lot of time or hours into them to have fun. You can play a couple of hours at a time.

In EQ I guess it really feels like you have to be hardcore dedicated, but I disagree. You'll level fast and it's rewarding to play a lot, but I've literally leveled multiple characters 1-50 while mostly AFK and doing things around my room or office.
The problem with wow and modern EQ. Even velious and high end kunark are they are designed for "progression" "raiders" and "player engagement"

Vanilla EQ was designed to be immersive from a survival aspect. Most of The game was solable. Butt you could definitely see benefits from grouping. The world was supposed to be dynamic and up 24/7 without player engagement more ackin to the promises of radiant AI. Orcs and goblins ran their messages to neriak. Hill giants fought guards. Necro npcs fought paladin npcs if they pathed into each other or where pulled. Etc. Heck mobs even left corpses and loot if they killed eachother.