Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Old 05-14-2022, 08:16 PM
Decaying Skeleton

Question Complete noob asking for help and saying hi

Hello all!!

I was directed here by many for my love of old games, classic mmos, classic rpgs, etc etc etc. I never got to play OG Everquest, but being in my 30s these types of games are the nostalgia hit I'm looking for.

I would like to list some frustrations in researching that I have run into in hopes that I get some pointers in the right direction. Please note that I will be complaining a bit but I'd appreciate it if you can keep flaming me on those complaints to a minimum as it's not helpful. I don't know this community at all and I hear it's a kind one, just know that I'm not just coming at this without doing my own research first, and that I'm very willing to "google it myself" if need be <3

So far, I have started with many youtube guides and tutorials, including downloading the base game which I do own on CD due to being a collector of these things, and following the guide I'm sure most followed, the one by Joe Leonard "Install in 10 minutes" or something similar.

My first trouble began here. The above guy's installer seems to come with a package that includes a bunch of UI tools. I think mine is outaded or just broken. None of the UI skin options in the options menu change my UI at all, they just rearrange some stuff. I have core buttons missing like the "EQ" button and have no idea how to get them back or to show up in the first place. Any help here would be greatly appreciated!

I also patched the game with the link from the forum home page, so I'm up to date there.

I have loaded into the game and messed around a little bit, figured out how to talk to people etc, but I am basically completely lost, and getting a bit frustrated at finding some basic help. Here is my current dilemma: