Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-17-2020, 09:54 AM
Skarne Skarne is online now
Kobold

Skarne's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Paul Allen’s apartment
Posts: 173
Default

If anyone has any fixes for a Radeon/AMD user pls let me know, capped at 35
__________________
“The fundamental question is, will I be as effective as a boss like my dad was? And I will be, even more so. But until I am, it's going to be hard to verify that I think I'll be more effective.“- Little Carmine
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-17-2020, 09:04 PM
Kaezyr D`Shiv Kaezyr D`Shiv is offline
Kobold

Kaezyr D`Shiv's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Neriak Third Gate
Posts: 165
Default

@Skarne, first off, are you using WinEQ2? If you are, try doing this below and see if you have better frames.

Secondly, try just renaming your eqclient.ini to eqclient.ini.old

Then try to open the game using the "Launch Titanium.bat" link provided by the P99 patch files downloaded. Then run the "Options" and setup those according to your video card. Is the card that EQ recognizes the one that you are expecting?

If after doing those steps and you see the FPS go any higher than 35, then it may be that you were using WinEQ2 and had the option for "EQPlayNice" to be on and possibly configured to limit your FPS to 35. (Mine was set to be limiting at 40 exactly) I am using a Ryzen 5 AMD integrated APU, after turning off the "EQPlayNice" option for my EQ shortcut in Preferences and closing and restarting the WinEQ2 application, I am now able to go over 40 FPS and am no longer locked.
__________________
-Kae
<Riot> Wizard☆Shadow Knight☆Cleric☆Magician..and more!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-18-2020, 04:10 AM
PabloEdvardo PabloEdvardo is offline
Kobold


Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 116
Default

I noticed a similar issue with framerate effectively capping at 37 when I upgraded to Win10 build 2004. I reverted back to 1903 and I immediately went back to 60fps.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-18-2020, 09:13 AM
Skarne Skarne is online now
Kobold

Skarne's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Paul Allen’s apartment
Posts: 173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaezyr D`Shiv [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
@Skarne, first off, are you using WinEQ2? If you are, try doing this below and see if you have better frames.

Secondly, try just renaming your eqclient.ini to eqclient.ini.old

Then try to open the game using the "Launch Titanium.bat" link provided by the P99 patch files downloaded. Then run the "Options" and setup those according to your video card. Is the card that EQ recognizes the one that you are expecting?

If after doing those steps and you see the FPS go any higher than 35, then it may be that you were using WinEQ2 and had the option for "EQPlayNice" to be on and possibly configured to limit your FPS to 35. (Mine was set to be limiting at 40 exactly) I am using a Ryzen 5 AMD integrated APU, after turning off the "EQPlayNice" option for my EQ shortcut in Preferences and closing and restarting the WinEQ2 application, I am now able to go over 40 FPS and am no longer locked.
I will try it! Thank you. I do not have WinEQ2 I will try to download that and configure.
__________________
“The fundamental question is, will I be as effective as a boss like my dad was? And I will be, even more so. But until I am, it's going to be hard to verify that I think I'll be more effective.“- Little Carmine
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-18-2020, 11:27 AM
xaix1999 xaix1999 is offline
Sarnak


Join Date: May 2018
Location: ::1/128
Posts: 303
Default

it's your drivers
roll back your catalyst
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-18-2020, 11:31 AM
Skarne Skarne is online now
Kobold

Skarne's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Paul Allen’s apartment
Posts: 173
Default

WinEQ2 wasnt the issue. I'm not sure how to rollback my drivers, and idk if thats a good idea considering I also play many current games.
__________________
“The fundamental question is, will I be as effective as a boss like my dad was? And I will be, even more so. But until I am, it's going to be hard to verify that I think I'll be more effective.“- Little Carmine
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-18-2020, 11:32 AM
Skarne Skarne is online now
Kobold

Skarne's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Paul Allen’s apartment
Posts: 173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PabloEdvardo [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I noticed a similar issue with framerate effectively capping at 37 when I upgraded to Win10 build 2004. I reverted back to 1903 and I immediately went back to 60fps.
How do I try and revert back? My apologies I am not very good with computers. Is there any way you can describe how I could do that?
__________________
“The fundamental question is, will I be as effective as a boss like my dad was? And I will be, even more so. But until I am, it's going to be hard to verify that I think I'll be more effective.“- Little Carmine
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-18-2020, 11:34 AM
xaix1999 xaix1999 is offline
Sarnak


Join Date: May 2018
Location: ::1/128
Posts: 303
Default

getting drivers from your manufacturers website is a better idea then downgrading windows which you will most likely not be able to do
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-18-2020, 11:35 AM
xaix1999 xaix1999 is offline
Sarnak


Join Date: May 2018
Location: ::1/128
Posts: 303
Default

drivers you get from windows are not the same drivers from your manufacture
manufacture drivers will always be better
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-18-2020, 11:38 AM
xaix1999 xaix1999 is offline
Sarnak


Join Date: May 2018
Location: ::1/128
Posts: 303
Default

and what game you are playing meaning nothing to your gpu if you have manufacture drivers
i said rollback your drivers "assuming" you have them in the first place

software doesn't make your gpu better
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:02 AM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.