Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Class Discussions > Tanks

Closed Thread

Old 11-15-2012, 07:58 PM
Aviak

Default Possible to play a non-twinked warrior?

Hi everyone, from what I'm reading around the forums, it seems that a warrior will have a hard time holding agro unless he is twinked or has proccing weapons. seeing as I just started playing here recently, I don't have much (and not subliminally asking for things) so I was wondering if I'm going to struggle to keep aggro to the point of being a burden/not getting groups b/c of shitty gear.

Any input would be appreciated, would like to play the warrior but if I had to consider a knight I would. Thanks again.
Old 11-15-2012, 08:18 PM
Planar Protector

Tbh, twinking is so over the top here that, unless you have a premade group with friends who're also starting from scratch, any melee or hybrid (except bard) is really hurting in comparison to most other characters you'll encounter. Even a twinked warrior has trouble with agro. [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Old 11-15-2012, 08:34 PM
Aviak

So im basically shit outta luck? I was gun-ho on a warrior, but if not having adequate weaponry is going to end up just pissing me off, guess I'll try a different class. Should I be avoiding tanks altogether if im not twinking??
Old 11-16-2012, 07:03 AM
Kobold

Well, pallys and especially SKs have absolutely no aggro problem on the other hand, even if not twinked. You'll be taking hard hits but it's doable if you have worthy friends to play with. SKs can also solo somewhat decently with fearkite, so you won't take hits if doing that. If you want to play a tank, go for it. And if it must be a warrior, go for it. Being a little subpar isn't as important as playing something you want to play.
Old 11-16-2012, 09:37 AM
Sarnak

You'll get there, keep at it.
Play what you want to play.

Kalepto Mayniak - 54 Half-Elf Rogue

Ithamar Kenobi- 57 High Elf Magician
171 research skill
Old 11-16-2012, 10:15 AM