Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Old 05-01-2023, 06:12 PM
Decaying Skeleton

Default Advice on Gearing a Warrior

Hey everyone, I just started playing on the Green sever. Despite knowing warrior is very gear dependent I still wanted to roll one as my first character. I'm just looking for any advice on good starting gear as I start to level.
Old 05-01-2023, 10:43 PM
Planar Protector

HPs and DPS is all that matters at first. Basically have people in EC or WC cast DS and regen on you and it will be free power level.

5/55 rings
Orc fang earrings
Jarsath trident
Crystalline shortsword or lamentation
Treeweave tunic
Crust shell armor

Even all that gear will probably run you close to 1.5k. Which is pretty hard to get as a starving warrior.

Coming from someone that mained a barbarian warrior back on live, don’t do it. It’s a miserable slog unless you have really really good gear.

Monks seem to have all the advantage of a warrior and none of the disadvantages. I have been in groups many times where monks have been the main tanks without issue. The plus side to a monk is you can FD, sneak, and mend. Plus your DPS is way better. Additionally monks don’t seem to be as gear dependent.
Old 05-02-2023, 08:56 AM
Planar Protector

Get a staff of battle for 300p. It'll be your best bang-for-the-buck 2 hander for a long time.

Don't worry about aggro weapon procs. You aren't going to have shit for dex untwinked. Your best bet is to kindly ask your group-mates to root mobs for you. Be the closest one whacking it and you will have aggro. By the time root breaks it should be stuck on you.
Old 05-02-2023, 10:59 AM
Sarnak

Warrior is such a great class. Extremely underrated. Weapon ratio is cheapest most important thing. After that shoot for haste of course. Ac/hp/resists should be some cheap effective stuff around.

Find a chanter and cleric
Old 05-02-2023, 03:32 PM
Decaying Skeleton