Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Class Discussions > Priests

Closed Thread

Old 07-11-2016, 11:19 AM
Decaying Skeleton

Default Newbie Druid seeking advice

Hi, like many-- I haven't played EQ for 15 years and only recently found P99 and I feel like a complete newbie all over again. Adult life is going to keep me out of the raid scene so I figured I could start gathering materials and hire a tailor to have cultural armor created.

To cut to the chase, I am level 16 and I have started to farm all the materials (acorns/pebbles etc) for Halfling reinforced vale armor (Figure it will be the best I will have for a long time) but I noticed the Imbued Mithril that the high elves can make and its making me wonder if I chose the wrong race! That armor is equal in AC but superior in wisdom and SVM, only loses out on the stamina. Considering I may never have groups/raid groups to get the really good stuff-- the crafted might be my best gear for life-- is this suit worth changing race for ? (I really like my hide skill, going from 50 hide to 1 hide [wood elf] could that noticeably hurt the failure rate?) Even as a casual, can I gather better stuff individually rather than commit to this crafted?

Also the wiki doesn't say how rare morning dew/swirling mist/essence of moonlight is.. though I could start gathering it all very early (ak anon steam elementals at 10ish, forage from the start as a wood elf in the faydarks--only thing I don't know about are the essence of moonlight)

Any help is appreciated!
Old 07-11-2016, 11:54 AM
Fire Giant

Stick with halfling. The utility of sneak beats out whatever those dumb elves have going for them in the way of marginal stat gains on cultural armor.

50 hide skill vs 1 hide skill is the difference between "I can do it once every 5 tries" to "why the fuck did I bother making a hotkey for this?"