Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Closed Thread

Old 11-17-2020, 02:13 PM
Decaying Skeleton

Default I have no idea what I'm doing lol (noob)

I played EQ briefly back in the day around Kunark era, and always wanted to revisit. I logged in and I was so lost. So i'm just like....what would be recommended class for a complete noob? I'm usually a tank in most games but for this game I'm open to just what's easier for soloing or easy to get invited to a group, etc. Should I just go warrior and stab or monk and punch or enchanter or bard and just boost people? so many options xD

I appreciate any input. I'm looking forward to feeling like I'm 13 again. Glad to be here.
Old 11-18-2020, 01:44 PM
Sarnak

Play what seems fun.

Welcome home!
Old 11-18-2020, 02:32 PM
Planar Protector

inb4 druid.

also, play a druid.
Old 11-18-2020, 04:05 PM
Planar Protector

not knowing what you are doing is the best part of the game
Old 11-18-2020, 04:23 PM
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetaress [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Old 11-18-2020, 05:29 PM
Sarnak

Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetaress [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
There’s really nothing that compares to the adventure of this game. Take it all in

That being said the wiki is absolutely full of great info and will bring you up to speed fast. As far as which class it’s totally open to your interest. If your used to tanks, one good compromise is the Shaman which is basically a hybrid and you can do plenty of melee pre-30. You get all the perks of a caster (bind, gate, Sow, buffs for daaaayz, etc.) you’ll be welcome in groups as both a healer and a slower and can solo very effectively. At the highest level shaman is arguably one of the most powerful classes in the game.
Old 11-18-2020, 06:00 PM
Planar Protector

Some suggestions and pros and cons off the top of my head: