Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Class Discussions > Melee

Closed Thread

Old 03-26-2015, 02:14 PM
Sarnak

Default New Monk Twink gear (cheaper side of the coin)

Ok so I started playing a monk. I spent a few kpp on him, bit but I feel like my knowledge of the class is still very poor. I am just looking for some advice.

Human Monk - Quellious currently level 20
1. is AGI my highest priority with gear?
2. At level 20 now, should I be using dual or 2hb? I currently own x2 Knuckle Dusters and Wu's Quivering Staff
3. How important is it to stay at 15 weight or less? I am at 16 right now and the ONLY thing I an carrying is a Traveler's Backpack with 20 food/water and Bandages.
4. Simple list of beginning gear possibly?
Old 03-26-2015, 02:20 PM
Planar Protector

Platinum Fire Wedding Rings - 250pp/ea - 55 HP and 5 AC each

After those, I'd personally say save up for a Haste item. Other items, while stats are good, won't bring you nearly the power haste will. (Of course a Fungi would but that's 7-8x more expensive than a basic haste item).

Other items after you get HP rings and Haste... Hooded Black Cloak (5 STR/45 HP), Diamondine Earrings (3 STR/12 HP), Totem of Warrior Spirit (3 STR/10 HP Ranged) are decent options.

1. For a grouping monk... HP/STA -> Resists -> STR. For a soloing monk HP/STA -> STR. In a group your primary role will be puller, DPS is secondary to this. When soloing you can pick melee only mobs and not need resists.
2. Yea, go 2hb for most of your time leveling.
3. Weight determines your AC. If you aren't tanking or taking hits, it's not a huge deal to be over. But if you're tanking or pulling often, I'd say it's wise to stay under it. I'm pretty sure the AC degradation scales, so once you go over 15 it decreases but not as much as it would at 30. Someone feel free to correct me here.
4. See my above thoughts.
Last edited by Daldaen; 03-26-2015 at 02:25 PM..
Old 03-26-2015, 03:11 PM
Sarnak

Quote: