Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Blue Community > Blue Server Chat

Closed Thread

Old 04-25-2015, 01:47 PM
Sarnak

Default Weapon Ratios

Since anyone can remember, the standard for judging weapon quality (in terms of swing damage output) has been the ratio of its damage to its delay. Of course, the main hand damage bonus encourages faster weapons in the Primary slot, but for the offhand weapon, the advice is invariably to "use the best ratio" to maximize dps.

I have to ask: Has it ever been proven that (barring the MH damage bonus) equal ratio weapons produce the same damage output in the long run?

It doesn't seem to be self-evident that damage and delay carry equal weight. How do we know that in the offhand, a 10/20 and a 15/30 weapon average to the same dps? I'm no expert on the formulas that control swing damage.
Last edited by Synthlol; 04-25-2015 at 02:15 PM..
Old 04-25-2015, 02:17 PM
Planar Protector

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthlol [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
How do we know that in the offhand, a 10/20 and a 15/30 weapon average to the same dps?
You can never prove it fully, but assuming both weapons have the same weapon skill (eg 1h slash) the law of averages should keep things even.

Rogues will always go for the highest damage weapon in the main hand and the best ratio in the off hand... inevitably we have a server of rogues with epics in main hand and edge of the nightwalker or CSS etc in their offhand if they aren't VP raiders.

Warriors have more choice outside of epix and things like weapon procs come into it.
Old 04-25-2015, 02:29 PM
Planar Protector

You could prove it if you know the code driving the dmg formulas, but I dont think anyone is showing you those.

People parse and it seems to be that the best weapon setups are those with the best ratio in off hand. I think you are safe assuming this is true.