Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Server Issues > Resolved Issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-25-2017, 10:27 AM
Lhancelot Lhancelot is offline
Planar Protector

Lhancelot's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3,164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastboy21 [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I get the stuttering also. To test it, I often go 3rd person view and swing the camera around me in a large 360 circle nonstop. When its bad I cannot get all the way around before a hickup hits and the camera freezes for a split second as I rotate. Its been worse lately, but somedays it isn't bad at all. It doesn't happen with EQlive.

I've found that rebooting my computer clears it up sometimes, but its hard to tell. Rarely it gets bad enough that I will not even attempt to solo as the hickups at the wrong critical time could kill me.
I have this too. On EQLive no stutter at all when I mouse move, but on P99 it goes from hardly noticeable to fairly substantial freezes. Been doing it for years tbh I just deal with it.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-25-2017, 10:57 AM
Argh Argh is offline
Planar Protector

Argh's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,166
Default

Have you tried turning off mouse acceleration/enhanced pointer precision?
Last edited by Argh; 11-25-2017 at 11:05 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-25-2017, 11:15 AM
khanable khanable is offline
Planar Protector

khanable's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Plane of Rustles
Posts: 2,711
Default

Few things to check:

1) Have logs on? If your log file is big archive it and let the client start a new one. After a certain size the log file makes the client run like hot garbage. Also try filtering out some text - you're getting all hits/misses/etc from everyone it looks like. That's a lot of shit (especially when group actions happen - ever been the plane of hate when they all shout? can't avoid that fucking your client for a second or two)

2) Shadows off or lower the clip distance (see if it helps) - I think this is more or less the problem as I get the same exact slow down if there are 100-200 folks on screen with shadows on and the clip distance is maxed out

3) Hide NPC/PC names (see if it helps)

4) Lower/turn off particle effects (see if it helps)
__________________
hello i'm cucumbers
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-25-2017, 12:56 PM
LiQuid LiQuid is offline
Fire Giant

LiQuid's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 540
Default

Ok, so I think I solved this problem... Or I did as it related to Destiny. Haven't had enough time in EQ yet over the last day to test it out so I dunno if it fixed the problem here.

Turns out my mouse software had my polling rate or refresh rate set to 1ms which I guess can negatively effect your CPU usage. I turned it down to 4ms (could drop it further to 8ms but that felt really weird and delayed) and now my only lag/slowdown in Destiny is directly because of my CPU limitations. It otherwise runs fine.

Still need to test it out in EQ, which doesn't tax my CPU at all. Seems ok initially but I need to test it out in some raiding situations where there's more people present.
__________________

Plush Bufnstuf
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-25-2017, 12:58 PM
Tupakk Tupakk is offline
Planar Protector


Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiQuid [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Ok, so I think I solved this problem... Or I did as it related to Destiny. Haven't had enough time in EQ yet over the last day to test it out so I dunno if it fixed the problem here.

Turns out my mouse software had my polling rate or refresh rate set to 1ms which I guess can negatively effect your CPU usage. I turned it down to 4ms (could drop it further to 8ms but that felt really weird and delayed) and now my only lag/slowdown in Destiny is directly because of my CPU limitations. It otherwise runs fine.

Still need to test it out in EQ, which doesn't tax my CPU at all. Seems ok initially but I need to test it out in some raiding situations where there's more people present.
That will be One Lodi belt please.
__________________

Tupakk-57 Bard(Raid Whore)Afeni-45 Druid (Dial a Port Leadership) |Forums|Facebook| Lumumba-60 Rogue(DaP Security)/(Nocterma Member) & Department of Fun Promoter
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-25-2017, 01:28 PM
LiQuid LiQuid is offline
Fire Giant

LiQuid's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 540
Default

Shut up tupak u didn't help!
__________________

Plush Bufnstuf
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-25-2017, 01:30 PM
Tupakk Tupakk is offline
Planar Protector


Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiQuid [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Shut up tupak u didn't help!
I drove your ass to the answer!!!!!
__________________

Tupakk-57 Bard(Raid Whore)Afeni-45 Druid (Dial a Port Leadership) |Forums|Facebook| Lumumba-60 Rogue(DaP Security)/(Nocterma Member) & Department of Fun Promoter
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-25-2017, 02:30 PM
LiQuid LiQuid is offline
Fire Giant

LiQuid's Avatar

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quido [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
what ultimately solved the issue was getting off an AMD/ATI system and getting on an Intel/Nvidia system.
This is my next step. I've been using Nvidia as long as I've been using PCs and I got a hand me down AMD card from a friend last year and while I appreciate it, it's been nothing but a nightmare. Also my CPU is a decade old AMD that I got in 2013 when it was already old and dated and it can't run anything worth a damn.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tupakk [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I drove your ass to the answer!!!!!
No really, one of my friends Google fu'd this for me. You were absolutely no help, whatsoever lol

Did you mean you drove me to get help from people that weren't you? If that's the case you're right, I owe you big time!
__________________

Plush Bufnstuf
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-25-2017, 03:04 PM
Tupakk Tupakk is offline
Planar Protector


Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1,916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiQuid [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
This is my next step. I've been using Nvidia as long as I've been using PCs and I got a hand me down AMD card from a friend last year and while I appreciate it, it's been nothing but a nightmare. Also my CPU is a decade old AMD that I got in 2013 when it was already old and dated and it can't run anything worth a damn.


No really, one of my friends Google fu'd this for me. You were absolutely no help, whatsoever lol

Did you mean you drove me to get help from people that weren't you? If that's the case you're right, I owe you big time!
Could of lead with you are running a fucking toaster.
__________________

Tupakk-57 Bard(Raid Whore)Afeni-45 Druid (Dial a Port Leadership) |Forums|Facebook| Lumumba-60 Rogue(DaP Security)/(Nocterma Member) & Department of Fun Promoter
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-26-2017, 07:40 AM
khandman khandman is offline
Sarnak

khandman's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 226
Default

When I had problem's with my mouse the 1st thing I did was go into the Display options in EQ and move the slider for, Max Frames per Second, down to 59-60 to match the refresh on my monitor. This helped greatly.

But I still got some issues with random erratic mouse movement when turning with the mouse instead of keys. What I did here was created some bin windows in the EQ UI just using the New Chat Window function. Created the bins, and dumped stuff using the filters like others spells, others hits, others missed etc into them. Everything I didn't need to see or want to see would go to those bins.

And then I would minimize the windows. And this again helped. Seems text lag can cause movement to be crappy at times, and if you use the bin method I described, you can see that after 5-10 minutes if you go to open the window again from it's minimized state. Upon opening the window everything is still fine until you go to scroll through the text, and you will get a client freeze or a few second or more depending on how much shit it has to scroll through. Once it's caught up the client responds again.

With the bin windows minimized the chat windows still receive the text but the windows do not automatically scroll. When you open them up again and start to scroll, that's where the performance is hit. So it is likely if you have windows open for chat and have a lot of text scrolling through them, then this could be causing hit's to mouse control when trying to turn and look about. Kelethin used to be murder.

Maybe worth a shot to try at your end?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.