Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Class Discussions > Tanks

Closed Thread

Old 08-09-2014, 12:08 PM
Large Rat

Default Newb Pally Question

Hey y'all! I just started playing this week and decide to make a half-elf pally. I have managed to sell enough bone chips and bear sins to get about half a set of banded armor and an ebonwood cudgel. I am lvl 5 now, slowly working my way through these levels.

As I save up more pp, should I be looking for a 2 hander? I played a delf SK in live way back when. I never played a pally, so I don't know much about the class. So basically sword n board or 2handers? thanks!
Old 08-09-2014, 12:32 PM
Planar Protector

General rule of thumb is 1hander to level 20, then 20+ 2handers are good cause damage cap is removed.

1-20... Sword of The Morning is fabulous but about 1k, so likely out of range for a new player. Look for a Sword of Skyfire (happens to drop off the same mob, it's just very common). It's cheap and a great weapon 1-20.

20+... Baton of Faith is tough to beat for the price (can snag for 100 plat sometimes)... 30 DMG / 40 Delay is fabulous. Not many things beat this weapon IMO. The ones that do are sort of expensive and you are probably just better off saving up to buy Book of Scales to then get your epic.

Having a shield+sword is useful 20+ if you need a tiny AC boost (and likely stats), and more importantly, against caster mobs like festering hags, you can use bash to prevent huge damage nukes.
Old 08-09-2014, 12:34 PM
Planar Protector

Both are useful. A 2hander will be your best damage output from L20 to the end, a 1hander w/ shield will be needed to bash interrupt casters until/unless you get your epic.

Relatively early on you should be able to scrape up enough for a Baton of Faith which you'll want at L20. It's a 30/40 2hb for paladin or monk, and it's heavy for a monk weapon so undesired by them. It's incredibly cheap, loot saturation plus small paladin population have it around 100pp these days.