Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Closed Thread

Old 01-08-2020, 04:46 AM
Sarnak

Thumbs up Dungeon crawling

The last two days I have been part of putting together two groups to go into areas where we haven’t been before, with people new to me. Upper Guk was essentially empty, only two groups down there when we started. The first group had never been to a Guk, and I am a relatively newbie to Guk myself. I ended up guiding us around (I cheat, I have a map) and being the puller. I managed to wipe us twice on bad pulls and mostly inexperience on my part. But boy, I had fun! And nobody complained. One person even joined my next group the next day. Although that day we eventually had an experienced enchanter leading us.

Dungeon crawling is some of the best experiences in my view. I had memories from 2000 when (one of the few times) being down in Lower Guk and doing naked corpse recoveries. These are some of the best times, when a team pulls together and pushes the boundaries and have fun working together.

I know some wants safe camps and flowing XP. I don’t mind these either occasionally, but I hang out in EQ for dungeon crawling. Thanks guys.
Last edited by Naxy; 01-08-2020 at 04:49 AM..
Old 01-08-2020, 10:03 AM
Kobold

I have always suspected the game was designed with dungeon crawling in mind, but though design naïveté the mechanics do not support it well. In other words, I really doubt (or hope) the designers didn’t say “let’s design dungeons such that the best way to experience them is for everyone to sit in one spot for hours upon hours killing the same mobs over and over”. I believe they under estimated players’ willingness to take the path of least resistance (danger) in lieu of adventure, excitement and danger. Now is is good time to try to experience dungeon crawling, though, while population is low. I am happy you were able to experience it.
Old 01-08-2020, 04:18 PM
Planar Protector

Quote: