Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Class Discussions > Casters

Closed Thread

Old 01-20-2014, 12:16 PM
Kobold

Default Starting a Mage. Tips and advice wanted!

I have a lvl 19 mage, and I am interested in hearing advice, experiences, or just any useful information that some of you high level mages have acquired that someone like me would find helpful.

I have gotten almost all my focus items so far, seems to help a great deal! What else should I work on gear-wise to maximize my effectiveness as a mage?

Atm I tend to use Fire pet, as it's DS seems to be great against mobs. Will this pet always be best when I solo? What pet does more damage in groups? I tend to use Air pet when in groups, unless I pull with my pet, then I use Fire pet, as it does a lot of damage before the mob gets to group.

I created this post hoping that something is shared I don't already know about the mage class. I am new to the mage, so I am sure there are many things that will fall into this category. [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Old 01-20-2014, 01:43 PM
Sarnak

My mage is 38 now and I must admit that the fastest way to level has now become grouping. However, when I solo, I cain earth+DS or fire depending. Fire allows me to kill a few more mobs per bar of mana and kills faster but is more risky due tot he pet's fragility, earth is more for a relaxed pet (allowing me to regenerate more mana during the fight although this doesn't seem to compensate completely in terms of efficiency vs fire pet).

Mages have an issue when fighting 2+ mobs as you may have noticed by now. A great trick I've found deal with this is as follow (if I see the pull will be a multi pull, works with adds but is more tricky):
1- Stay far away, I mean it, far away (if you can maximum distance you can be to send your pet in)
2- Send you pet in
3- The 2+ mobs will aggro your pet
4- Sit
5- All the mobs your pet is not hitting will come running for you