Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Class Discussions > Casters

Closed Thread

Old 02-11-2014, 11:53 AM
Large Rat

Default New (hopefully not obvious) enchanter questions

Hello,

I recently started playing and am currently a level 4 Erudite Enchanter named Catilyn. I have a few questions:

1. Should I have created a Dark Elf? I find the Dark Elves ugly, and I hate East Commons for leveling... it was always too crowded in EQ1 and I imagine it's the same now. I created an Erudite because I wanted to try leveling in Qeynos (and assumed Erudites would be better than Human Enchanters), and I figured Karanas would be good for charming. I'm worried though that I'm going to regret not having hide when I'm a higher level for charming... do you think it's worth starting over before I'm too high? Is there any way for a Dark Elf Enchanter to level in Qeynos?

2. I know that after level 8, we have to go to High Hold Keep to get our pets. If I remember correctly from EQ1, High Hold Pass was filled with hostile mobs that were like level 20 and it was really cramped... you basically couldn't get through without getting aggro. If I'm level 8, will Invis protect me from the mobs? Or am I too low that they'll see me anyway? I forget how that works.

3. Since I'm using a newbie weapon, it's impossible for me to do more damage than my pet, so he soaks up 50% of the exp. This has made leveling kind of slow. Is there a good work around for this, or is this just how it's going to be until I can actually start casting spells regularly.

Thanks for the help! [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Old 02-11-2014, 12:24 PM
Planar Protector

1.) Erudite is a good choice, possible even better than a dark elf since they have more CHA. I am a Dark Elf but hide isn't a realiable way to break charm. Get yourself a Goblin Gazughi ring as soon as you can as that is by the far the best way to break charm as a chanter.