Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Old 07-29-2020, 06:45 PM
Decaying Skeleton

Default Persistent "You Have Been Disconnected" Issues

Hello all!

I am new to Project 1999 and EverQuest in general but really excited to play! However, I seem to have persistent problems staying connected once I enter world. I will get through all the steps, booting up the game, server select etc., no problem, but once I am on my character, I am either extremely laggy to where it is unplayable, or I disconnect within 5 minutes by getting the black screen with the text "You Have Been Disconnected". The odd thing is when I tried using my phone as a hotspot, the connection works fine and I can play! This is ok for the short term, but I'd like to figure out what could be happening in the meantime. We browsed the forums for other people having similar issues but could not find anything resolved the issue. I would really appreciate any insight any of you could share!

Some additional info:
- I live with someone who also plays (my boyfriend). I applied for an IP exemption at the beginning of the month in the Petition forum and it was approved last week.
- I got a brand new gaming laptop/PC from Alienware last week (so we could play this together as well as other games). Top of the line graphics card and RAM etc. Running Windows 10. We've read that some newer PCs have issues with multi-core processors but given the fact that EQ runs perfectly fine on my phone's hotspot connection, I do not think that the processor is the issue.
- His PC works EQ just fine with our ISP connection.
- I have this connection issue regardless if it is just me playing or both of us trying to play (on our respective PCs)
- Using our ISP, I am able to play any other game (Anthem, Portal, Warzone etc) with no connection issues

Things I have tried:
- Using our ISP and then connecting via a VPN service on my PC - same laggy/disconnect issues