Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Class Discussions > Priests

Closed Thread

Old 10-06-2019, 12:19 PM
Fire Giant

Default Troll Shaman symbols, with Green in mind

I've been waffling about going either Ogre or Troll Shaman for my first Green character so I wanted to see if anybody had some thoughts on which symbols would be more useful and how useful they would be through classic/Kunark. I've never played a Troll so I have no real first hand experience with the symbols.

It seems like the Symbol of Innoruuk is considered the better symbol, but with a 6 second cast time, short duration, and especially low snare percentage, how often is the clicky snare actually better than just using a root when the goal is just to keep something from running? And if fear kiting using it, doesn't the low snare percentage make things difficult?

With the two Cazic symbols, you end up with the ability to fear both undead and animals with only a two second cast time. Shorter duration, but you end up spending less overall time casting for the same duration and it's not all at once.

Now while leveling up on Green, seeing as the best most people (including myself) are going to be running around in for a good while is mostly banded, fear kiting is going to be an ideal way to xp a lot of the time. It seems to me that grouping with somebody who has a much better snare and then using the symbols to save them mana on fears would generally produce better results than using the junk snare and having them run much faster. And between animals and undead there seems to be a pretty good coverage of levels all the way to 50.

So, to any Troll Shaman who have used them, thoughts on which symbols would prove more useful with the Green gearing and leveling situation in mind? Anything I'm saying here just flat out wrong when it comes to using the symbols in practice?
Old 10-06-2019, 12:58 PM
Sarnak