Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-31-2013, 08:49 AM
Nyrod Nyrod is offline
Sarnak


Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 490
Arrow Customizing EQUI - Im a newb at this!

ok, hope this isnt redundant information here. i decided recently i was really interested in making my own EQUI, either from scratch or to take some ideas from other custom ui and change it to how i would like. couldnt find any newb guides, bits and pieces here and there. thought, since im going through this i would share what i find along the way. if anyone else has stuff to add i would like that and will try to add relevant changes to this thread. this will be the complete "im a newb" start guide, because i have no idea what im doing either! [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]

Getting Started

Just want to download, update or use other premade custom UI's?

Savok's Guide

Duxa's Installer

www.eqinterface.com

Basics:

XML is the language EQUI uses.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/XML

Find a program to help you read XML. I use Notepad++

Step One:

In your EQ folder on your computer copy the default ui folder.
eg. C:\Program Files\Sony\EverQuest\uifiles\default

Alternately copy the folder of the custom UI you want to work with.

Rename it with your desired UI name.
eg. C:\Program Files\Sony\EverQuest\uifiles\bestbadassuievar

Step Two:

Get an idea what you want to customize.
eg. in my case i started with the Hot Button Bars

Find the file that houses the code you want to change.
eg. EQUI_HotbuttonWnd.xml

Open Notepad++. Open this file.

Alternately take specific .xml from a custom UI to edit or you can compare it at the same time in Notepad++

Step Three:

Login to EQ.

Make a social hotkey to load your UI.
eg. /load bestbadassuievar or /loadskin default

Minimize EQ. Edit the code and save. Maximize EQ. Press your hotkey. Repeat.

Problems:

UI does not load or I get an error or EQ crashes. You messed up the code somehow. Undo the changes you just made or fix the problem and try again.



**
Im a bit farther than this step at this point but i will come back to this later. for now i wanted to put down stuff i am working on right now so i dont get bogged down on this guide i dont want to forget little "ahaaa" moments i want to share let alone not finish what i planned on the UI lol
__________________
Last edited by Nyrod; 09-02-2013 at 07:22 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-31-2013, 08:50 AM
Nyrod Nyrod is offline
Sarnak


Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 490
Default

first thing i wanted to do was to make a hotbutton that housed inventory slots. maybe all of them. i remember once having a ui with a really small window with the whole inventory that was very small and still usable without opening the inventory but couldnt seem to find the one i had. i really liked the P99OUI look but wanted it to work like duxa. instead of trying to change all the graphics, i figured would be easier and more essential to work on the actual code.

what ive done so far hacking away at it.

[You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]

ya it looks like garbage lol!

what i do. open Notepad++, load up EQUI_HotbuttonsWnd.xml. first thing, i go to view > fold all, so i can actually see whats going on. if i am comparing with another UI i load that EQUI_HotbuttonsWnd.xml and right click its tab > move to other view

here is what i have found in the code just by screwing around. sample code...

<Button item = "HB_Button1"> name of the button
<ScreenID>HB_Button1</ScreenID>
<Font>1</Font>
<RelativePosition>true</RelativePosition>
<Location> these numbers change where the little hot button square is in the window
<X>2</X> horizontal positioned
<Y>20</Y>verticle positioned
</Location>
<Size> these numbers determine the size of the square, 40 is default
<CX>40</CX>
<CY>40</CY>
</Size>
<Text>1</Text> text that will be displayed on the button, sometimes not visible? havent messed with this much
<TextColor>
<R>0</R> red, green, blue value to change text color
<G>0</G>
<B>0</B>
</TextColor>
<DecalSize>
<CX>40</CX> im not sure yet what exactly this changes but if i change the basic size i have changed this to the same amount just incase
<CY>40</CY>
</DecalSize>
<ButtonDrawTemplate>
<Normal>A_HotButton1Normal</Normal>
<Pressed>A_HotButton1Pressed</Pressed>
<Flyby>A_HotButton1Flyby</Flyby>
<Disabled>A_HotButton1Disabled</Disabled>
<PressedFlyby>A_HotButton1PressedFlyby</PressedFlyby>
</ButtonDrawTemplate>
</Button>


this is how the code looks like in Notepad++ (im using a different color theme)

[You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]


a lot of it is common sense as far as how things are labeled

as you can see <!-- your info here --> is a great way to leave a note of the parts you have changed

<InvSlot item = "HB_InvSlot1"> is the code for the inventory button when you put that on the hotbar
<ScreenID>HB_InvSlot1</ScreenID>
<RelativePosition>true</RelativePosition>
<Location>
<X>2</X> this location must match on both the button, inventory slot, and spell gem code. i see these as "tabs" over the button spot
<Y>18</Y>
</Location>
<Size>
<CX>35</CX> the size of the inventory "tab" over top of the button
<CY>35</CY>
</Size>
<Background>A_RecessedBox</Background> you will work with EQTypes a lot A_RecessedBox is the default graphic for inventory slots
<EQType>-1</EQType>

<Style_VScroll>false</Style_VScroll>
<Style_HScroll>false</Style_HScroll>
<Style_Transparent>false</Style_Transparent>
</InvSlot>


<SpellGem item = "HB_SpellGem1"> is for spell gems in the hotbar
<ScreenID>HB_SpellGem1</ScreenID>
<RelativePosition>true</RelativePosition>
<Location>
<X>2</X> same as above
<Y>18</Y>
</Location>
<Size>
<CX>35</CX> same as above
<CY>35</CY>
</Size>
<SpellGemDrawTemplate>
<Holder>HB_SpellGemHolder</Holder>
</SpellGemDrawTemplate>
<SpellIconOffsetX>2</SpellIconOffsetX> havent messed with this yet
<SpellIconOffsetY>6</SpellIconOffsetY>
</SpellGem>


lol as im working on this is see how much of a pain in the ass it is putting all this info down but i will try to keep updating as im working on the UI.

--------------

i made a mistake by thinking that if i wanted more than 10 hotkeys on a bar i would simply copy all the info that say button 1 uses and change all the names/data to say "11" and this didnt work for me. i decided at this point to open up duxa's UI and see how the code looked in his. instead of adding a <InvSlot item = "HB_InvSlot11">...</InvSlot> and <Button item = "HB_Button11">...</Button> he simply had <InvSlot item = "Newslot1">...</InvSlot> etc

when adding any new button, invslot, spellgem etc. you also need to add it under <Screen item = "HotButtonWnd"> (HotbuttonWnd2, etc.) like this...

<Pieces>HB_InvSlot7</Pieces>
<Pieces>HB_InvSlot8</Pieces>
<Pieces>HB_InvSlot9</Pieces>
<Pieces>HB_InvSlot10</Pieces>
<Pieces>Newslot1</Pieces>
<Pieces>HB_SpellGem1</Pieces>
<Pieces>HB_SpellGem2</Pieces>
<Pieces>HB_SpellGem3</Pieces>
<Pieces>HB_SpellGem4</Pieces>

this is the code under the <InvSlot item = "Newslot1"> that u will be adjusting a lot

<InvSlot item="Newslot1">
<ScreenID>NewSlot1</ScreenID>
<RelativePosition>true</RelativePosition>
<Location>
<X>74</X> location of the actual hotkey in the hotbar
<Y>18</Y>
</Location>
<Size>
<CX>35</CX> its size
<CY>35</CY>
</Size>
<Background>A_InvPrimary</Background> this is the displayed background, in this example its your characters primary weapon
<EQType>13</EQType> the code for primary weapon slot
<Style_VScroll>false</Style_VScroll>
<Style_HScroll>false</Style_HScroll>
<Style_Transparent>false</Style_Transparent>
</InvSlot>

after i copied over ONLY these code changes (putting the "newslots" into my resized hotbar 1) this is what i have so far. its still a mess but all the floundering around is done and wont take much to fix the positioning, size and deciding which inventory slots i want in my hotbar.

[You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]

basic list of inventory EQtypes

EQType Background
1 LEar A_InvEar
2 Head A_InvHead
3 Face A_InvFace
4 REar A_InvEar
5 Neck A_InvNeck
6 Shoulder A_InvShoulders
7 Arms A_InvArms
8 Back A_Inv_AboutBody
9 LWrist A_InvWrist
10 RWrist A_InvWrist
11 Range A_InvRange
12 Hands A_InvHands
13 Primary A_InvPrimary
14 Secondary A_InvSecondary
15 LFinger A_InvRing
16 RFinger A_InvRing
17 Chest A_InvChest
18 Legs A_InvLegs
19 Feet A_InvFeet
20 Belt A_InvWaist
21 Ammo A_InvAmmo

22 inventory slot left 1 A_RecessedBox
23 inventory slot left 2 "
24 inventory slot left 3 "
25 inventory slot left 4 "
26 inventory slot right 1 "
27 inventory slot right 2 "
28 inventory slot right 3 "
29 inventory slot right 4 "

-----
i changed my plan a bit, but what i finally ended up with is this, there are 21 equipment slots and 8 inventory slots, scaling down the boxes to 35 i was able to put 10 hotkeys, 8 inventory slots and 12 equipment slots in the space/size of 2 normal hotkeys side by side. all of these can be easily changed.

[You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
__________________
Last edited by Nyrod; 09-02-2013 at 05:51 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2013, 08:50 AM
Nyrod Nyrod is offline
Sarnak


Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 490
Default

reserved
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.