Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Closed Thread

Old 07-30-2021, 02:12 PM
Orc

Default Help with noob brother

Ok boys and girl, I actually talked another person into starting p99. He's never played eq before but mechanically I think he will like it. He's a fan of old school runescape so he's no stranger to old games and bad graphics tradeoff for fun (to him) gameplay.

I've only had luck getting friends to play p99 that previously play eq back in the day with me and never a total noob like my little brother. Looking for advice on how to help get him hooked. I'm set on not twinking a lot but I'm not sure if zero twinking is best. I'll let him pick whatever class he wants and I'll pick second. I'll try to let him lead the adventures and just answer questions as he thi ks of them. Stuff like that.

Anyone have succes bringing in somebody totally new to eq? Is there any hope he stays or is the game just to old and my nostalgia is blinding me?
Last edited by JoFo23; 07-30-2021 at 02:15 PM..
Old 07-30-2021, 02:29 PM
Planar Protector

No success here either.

Choosing a fun starting city that lets you both choose your class is the best.

Try to explore with him and forget about the boundaries of the world as you know it. Let greater faydark be a big forest where the boundaries are absolutely unknown. Be scared of NPC's and /con them all the time and ask him if you think you can handle the monster, ETC.

I would choose based on the starting zone area you think could be most fun for him.

I really like faydwer overall, kaladim, kelethin and felwithe is such a nice place to run around. Plus akanon.

Rivervale is great till you max out at the goblin camps and either have to go into runnyeye or go to west commons or something for further progression. I don't enjoy the commonlands and desert of ro nearly as much as I enjoy the low mid level stuff in faydwer.