Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Closed Thread

Old 11-12-2014, 06:15 PM
Decaying Skeleton

Default <-- total noob: need advice

Hey All!
First of all I have next to zero experience with EQ. I played when it first came out but wasn't much into mmo(s) back then. I didn't get serious about gaming until Dark Age of Camelot came out in 2001. Played that for years off and on. I've also played most mmorpgs since then over the years.

I've noticed over those same years that the games were getting prettier and easier. Graphics have gotten amazing, questing is as simple as using a GPS while being carried from one quest hub to the next. It's like meeting a really hot woman or guy, depending on your taste ofc, and then find out they have an IQ of a ball of string. Fun to play with but not much long term.

<--Sorry, I'm off topic-->

So what always brought me back to daoc? It was the community. People are a huge part of any good game no matter how old it is. So just the other day I heard about Project 1999. After some trial and error I got it up and running. Still trying to get it working on a linux box instead but Windows is fine for now.

So what I'm looking for is just some advice for a poor new player on a good starting toon, race and area. By no means am I looking for handouts. I prefer to earn what I have. I'm just trying to avoid the "you rolled what class/race as your first?!?!" Are there any really needed classes that can both solo effectively as well as do alright in groups? Are there any good "starter guides" out there?

Thanks for reading...

Rambling off
Old 11-13-2014, 02:27 PM
Aviak

I say start with a Druid. They allow you to cast Sow & port to make travelling easier. They can do a little bit of everything which should give you a good starting point. You can also use them to port and powerlevel other characters to make a bit of coin to fund alts.