Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Green Community > Green Server Chat

Closed Thread

Old 11-05-2019, 02:40 PM
Large Rat

Default Cleric vs Paladin

I'm just starting my first experience with p1999 after not having played EQ in about 10 years. I'm trying to decide between rolling a cleric or a paladin on green/teal. I'm leaning more toward paladin because I like to be a snowflake, but definitely not against playing a cleric instead. I have no experience playing either class, as I was strictly a wizard during my time playing EQ.

My main concern is that I can only play sporadically during the week, which means I'll have to be able to solo to some extent. I don't need either class to be great at soloing, I just need it to be possible. I know paladin is probably not going to be easy for soloing but wondering if it's at least doable. Opinions are greatly appreciated, as I am feeling like a total noob. [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Old 11-05-2019, 06:30 PM
Sarnak

Clerics can’t really solo anything unless it is undead pretty early in their career. Then it is nearly a full load of mana per mob. Then you sit and med up. I’d argue that if soloing is the criteria for you the neither class is suitable. I have a cleric purely for groupwork and a Druid for soloing and be able to get around.
Old 11-05-2019, 06:32 PM
Planar Protector

Please play a paladin. We need tanks out here dear god.

Don't roll as dwarf tho they're the absolute worst.
Old 11-05-2019, 06:37 PM
Sarnak

cleric is a solid choice. They really are *pretty decent* soloers vs undead, given the understanding that it is boring, it is basically root nuke med. THere are plenty of people out there who leveled clerics totally solo more or less just nuking undead, it really as far as soloing classes goes is better than many. You know this but it is also an amazing group class and a great way to make a bunch of friends when you don't know anyone coming to a server new!