Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Closed Thread

Old 01-06-2020, 05:41 PM
Decaying Skeleton

Default Brand New, Asking for Help/Suggestions

Greetings

I am brand new to EverQuest. I have been interested in the series ever since I was a boy watching the VHS tape of "Knights Tale" and a commercial for EverQuest came on. My apologizes for the little Anecdote there but it is just something I have always wanted to do. I was able to acquire the Titanium Client and was able to launch the game so no problem there.

What I am ultimately looking for is suggestions on how to play the game. Race, Class, Statistics. A sort of tutorial for everything. I know that the classic Everquest came with the Tutorial but I wasn't able to find a way to play it so I am a little lost on controls and how to play. Is there any forum guides, any other websites I can use? Youtubers I can follow for tips and ideas? Also any general suggestions on race and class to start with would be immensely helpful. I'm not an MMO newb but I still wish to start off easy on my first go round on something like Everquest. Any suggestion would be welcome. I am starting out on the Green/Teal server, I managed that far but general controls and how to do basic functions are something I am not aware of.

Thank you for allowing me to be a part of your community and for any helpful tips and ideas.
Old 01-07-2020, 01:31 PM
Sarnak

The first thing to do in my opinion, is actually to skim through the FAQ, then create a character of a class that sound interesting and then try to play a bit.

As soon as you have logged in to your first character do CTRL-o and review the keyboard settings for easy one hand manoeuvring with the keyboard and mouse look. It will take a while to get that stuff working without thinking about it.

Don’t hesitate to as in the /ooc channel. Hit return, type /ooc Hi I am new, can you help me with [fill in the blank]. There are lots of helpful people around.