Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Server Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-18-2018, 02:56 PM
weaseal weaseal is offline
Aviak


Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 75
Default Frequent LDs, looks like eqemulator is the culprit?

I have been getting frequent LDs over the past 1-2 weeks. I originally suspected a problem between me and P99 but traceroutes and pings always worked to project1999.com when I was seemingly LD.

Today during a LD I tried my usual network tests against eqemulator.org and found that I was losing connection somewhere in NYC:

Code:
tracert eqemulator.org

Tracing route to eqemulator.org [144.121.19.170]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  local.lan [192.168.1.1]
  2    10 ms     8 ms     8 ms  24.86.64.1
  3     9 ms    12 ms    10 ms  69-172-144-1.cable.teksavvy.com [69.172.144.1]
  4     9 ms     9 ms    10 ms  xe-0-2-0-810-agg01-van2.teksavvy.com [76.10.191.133]
  5    10 ms    10 ms     9 ms  as6939.vanix.ca [206.41.104.27]
  6    23 ms    29 ms    31 ms  100ge10-2.core1.yyc1.he.net [184.105.64.114]
  7    38 ms    38 ms    38 ms  100ge10-2.core1.ywg1.he.net [184.105.222.97]
  8    60 ms    58 ms    59 ms  100ge6-2.core1.tor1.he.net [184.105.64.101]
  9     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 10    72 ms    69 ms    69 ms  lightower-fiber-networks.10gigabitethernet3-2.core1.nyc5.he.net [216.66.50.106]
 11    76 ms   101 ms    78 ms  ae3-nycmny83jp1.lightower.net [144.121.35.38]
 12    69 ms    70 ms    69 ms  ae8-whplnywpj91.lightower.net [104.207.214.143]
 13    75 ms    90 ms    75 ms  ae10-prvdrinwj41.lightower.net [104.207.214.88]
 14    76 ms    77 ms   123 ms  ae0-brtnmas6j81.lightower.net [65.254.31.58]
 15    76 ms    76 ms    87 ms  144.121.7.234.lightower.net [144.121.7.234]
 16    77 ms    76 ms    76 ms  144.121.19.170.lightower.net [144.121.19.170]

Trace complete.
To compare, this is a tracert after the issue subsided and I was able to reconnect:

Code:
tracert eqemulator.org

Tracing route to eqemulator.org [144.121.19.170]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  local.lan [192.168.1.1]
  2     7 ms     7 ms     8 ms  24.86.64.1
  3    10 ms    13 ms    11 ms  69-172-144-1.cable.teksavvy.com [69.172.144.1]
  4    30 ms    10 ms    10 ms  xe-0-2-0-810-agg01-van2.teksavvy.com [76.10.191.133]
  5     9 ms     9 ms    11 ms  as6939.vanix.ca [206.41.104.27]
  6    23 ms    24 ms    24 ms  100ge10-2.core1.yyc1.he.net [184.105.64.114]
  7    39 ms    37 ms    38 ms  100ge10-2.core1.ywg1.he.net [184.105.222.97]
  8    59 ms    61 ms    59 ms  100ge6-2.core1.tor1.he.net [184.105.64.101]
  9    70 ms    70 ms    72 ms  100ge11-2.core1.nyc5.he.net [184.105.81.53]
 10    70 ms    69 ms    69 ms  lightower-fiber-networks.10gigabitethernet3-2.core1.nyc5.he.net [216.66.50.106]
 11    76 ms    76 ms    84 ms  ae3-nycmny83jp1.lightower.net [144.121.35.38]
 12    69 ms    69 ms    69 ms  ae8-whplnywpj91.lightower.net [104.207.214.143]
 13    75 ms    77 ms    76 ms  ae10-prvdrinwj41.lightower.net [104.207.214.88]
 14    76 ms    76 ms    76 ms  ae0-brtnmas6j81.lightower.net [65.254.31.58]
 15    80 ms   101 ms    77 ms  144.121.7.234.lightower.net [144.121.7.234]
 16    76 ms    76 ms    76 ms  144.121.19.170.lightower.net [144.121.19.170]

Trace complete.
I have bolded the hop that seems responsible for the dropped packets.

Dropping this here in case anyone from p99 staff is able to pass it along to the people responsible for those hops.
Last edited by weaseal; 11-18-2018 at 03:00 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-18-2018, 03:09 PM
Swish2 Swish2 is offline
Planar Protector

Swish2's Avatar

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,213
Default

I get these on a tracert sometimes and the game still functions somehow.

I've had the worst connectivity on a wireless connection when others have been downloading at 100% of connection speed (funny that you just need 10kb/sec at most for the game to function). If you're on wireless, plug an ethernet cable in if you can and just rule the wireless thing out as being an issue.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-18-2018, 03:12 PM
weaseal weaseal is offline
Aviak


Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 75
Default

I'm wired, done plenty of in-home network tests, pinged my home router for hours consecutively, it succeeds 100% even when going LD in p99
Last edited by weaseal; 11-18-2018 at 03:14 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-18-2018, 11:07 PM
phantom phantom is offline
Aviak


Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 99
Default

Just because one server in the middle sometimes doesn't respond to the trace doesn't mean you have a problem connecting through it -- likely a coincidence. I also don't think the game connects to eqemulator after you log in to p1999 -- EQ definitely works when the login server is down.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogean View Post
phantom wins
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-19-2018, 01:38 AM
khandman khandman is offline
Kobold

khandman's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 172
Default

Firewalls and even policy rules that blocks the command can return a timeout. The timeout does not mean you've been blocked or that hop is the cause.
__________________
From the dark ages : Knights of Nemesis, Lords of Truth, Ordained, Project Eon, Council of Grey
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-19-2018, 12:12 PM
Andipooo Andipooo is offline
Large Rat


Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 5
Default

Since I can't actually get past the login right now I can't check this, but is the p99 server address actually "eqemulator.org"? (seems unlikely?)

If not, I'd say this tracert is probably irrelevant to your disconnects unless you tracert the actual game server and find that they share this hop.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-19-2018, 03:22 PM
Caldwin Caldwin is offline
Orc


Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by khandman [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Firewalls and even policy rules that blocks the command can return a timeout. The timeout does not mean you've been blocked or that hop is the cause.
This is true. Some routers may be set to ignore pings and traces, therefore getting the time out. If there was a problem at that node, the trace would likely hang on that node with repeated time outs until 30 hops (or tries) were done. The fact the trace made it to the destination means something else is going on, unless that node is having intermittent issues.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-19-2018, 04:41 PM
Oleris Oleris is offline
Planar Protector

Oleris's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Anaheim ด้้้้้็็็็็้้
Posts: 1,201
Default

I had issues desynching 5-6 times a night with my old connection. It was an issue with the dns servers when the information was getting routed. I got a vpn and it fixed everything.
__________________
<Aftermath> Oleris- 60 epic necro, Olerris- 60 epic monk. Songerino 60 epic Bard

Halloween 2015 event: https://www.twitch.tv/videos/23440971
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-19-2018, 05:03 PM
Murri Murri is offline
Aviak

Murri's Avatar

Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 85
Default

I had this same problem but it was because showeq had a conflict issue with MQ2.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-19-2018, 10:16 PM
Secrets Secrets is offline
VIP / Contributor

Secrets's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Murri [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I had this same problem but it was because showeq had a conflict issue with MQ2.
wat
__________________
.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.