Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2016, 05:36 AM
paroxysmal paroxysmal is offline
Kobold

paroxysmal's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 146
Default Discord Overlay

Anyone found a way to get the overlay to work with p99 era eq?
http://discord.gg
__________________
Qenni/Qani
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-22-2016, 08:48 PM
gnero gnero is offline
Orc


Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 45
Default

No, but I was just trying...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-13-2018, 10:00 PM
kwjohns kwjohns is offline
Aviak


Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 69
Default

Bump. Anyone been able to get this to work?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-14-2018, 05:58 PM
kwjohns kwjohns is offline
Aviak


Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 69
Default

Hmmm, I was under the impression that the old EQ Titanium client just simply did not work but I happened to install Discord on my work PC yesterday and noticed today that it does detect EQ.

[You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]

But doesn't on my PC at home, though. Adding more mystery and frustration to the equation...

[You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-20-2020, 05:42 PM
bivouac bivouac is offline
Skeleton


Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 18
Default

I found a homebrew overlay project released a couple months ago called Discord-Overlay. It shows up as a "game" in Discord settings, so it can host the overlay. Then you position its window, similar to a GINA overlay, anywhere on your desktop.

It works great with P99 in windowed mode. I gave it a quick try with fullscreen, but EQ did a familiar device_reset crash, so I gave up.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2020, 05:35 PM
flamewave000 flamewave000 is offline
Decaying Skeleton


Join Date: Nov 2020
Posts: 1
Default

As the developer of the Discord Overlay that bivouac posted, I can shed a little light onto what is likely happening. The way Discord does its overlay is it watches your graphics card and waits for anything that creates what's called a Graphics Device Context (GDC). This is what DirectX and OpenGL use, and it is what all of your graphics runs through. Kind of like a switch board for the graphics card.

When Discord finds one, it then highjacks the device and the process (app) that made it, and begins intercepting keyboard/mouse inputs and begins drawing to the program's GDC to have its stuff show up. The problem is most likely due to the fact this game is quite old and uses a very old version of DirectX or OpenGL for its graphics. This means Discord may not have support for those versions and is failing to highjack the GDC for the game.

Unfortunately if a game is fullscreen, you cannot show any other windows on top. This is why my program works for the game in windowed mode, but not in fullscreen. If you can survive with windowed mode, then I really hope you enjoy the Discord Overlay program I made. I originally made it for myself while playing D&D games in online virtual table tops (Roll20 and the like) but it's really cool to know it might help people out when playing other kinds of games [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]

I have a new version out (v2.0) that gives you some Quality of Life configuration options.
P.S. Sorry for the long reply :P
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-30-2020, 02:36 AM
xaix1999 xaix1999 is offline
Sarnak


Join Date: May 2018
Location: ::1/128
Posts: 370
Default

try http://dege.freeweb.hu/dgVoodoo2/dgVoodoo2.html
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-30-2020, 09:45 AM
Bondrake Bondrake is offline
Sarnak


Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 212
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xaix1999 [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Can we ban this guy. All he is doing is posting virus filled links.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-30-2020, 10:00 AM
mcoy mcoy is offline
Planar Protector


Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,581
Default

It's not a "virus filled link". It's a false positive. I, and many others, use dgvoodoo2 so EQ works with our modern graphics cards under Win10.

-Mcoy
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-19-2020, 12:38 PM
drelk001 drelk001 is offline
Fire Giant

drelk001's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 573
Default

Anyone get this figured out yet?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.