Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Blue Community > Blue Server Chat

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-25-2019, 04:08 AM
Tethler Tethler is offline
Planar Protector

Tethler's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,944
Default EQ on a tablet?

Is this doable? I have a 3ish year old galaxy tablet that is gathering dust. Recently occured to me that maybe it could run EQ. Anyone have any experience with this? I'd prob only use for tunnel questing and port whoring, not "real playing", assuming it's even possible.
  #2  
Old 02-25-2019, 04:13 AM
Swish2 Swish2 is offline
Planar Protector

Swish2's Avatar

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,753
Default

It's possible. Someone posted ages ago saying they managed to launch it on an Android tablet, I'd say it's not worth the energy investing in getting that done but good luck. I think it would need a decent step by step/how-to guide for it to take off here.

More importantly, just tunnel questing?

[You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]


 
[You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
__________________
  #3  
Old 02-25-2019, 04:17 AM
Tethler Tethler is offline
Planar Protector

Tethler's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,944
Default

Heh, yeah. I don't need to use it at home. I have long stretches at work between classes where I'm wasting time on shitty cell phone games for 45-60 mins at a time. Would be neat to log in for 30 mins and sell crap or do a few ports for monies, etc.
Last edited by Tethler; 02-25-2019 at 04:24 AM..
  #4  
Old 02-25-2019, 04:21 AM
Swish2 Swish2 is offline
Planar Protector

Swish2's Avatar

Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,753
Default

I had a crappy netbook about 2.5 - 3 years ago, played EQ without a problem unless a bard went by the screen with a bunch of mobs at once [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]

If you can't get a tablet to work, that's probably the next size up that's cheap and guaranteed to do the job ^^
__________________
  #5  
Old 02-25-2019, 11:43 AM
Cilraaz Cilraaz is offline
Aviak


Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 55
Default

If it's a Windows tablet, it should work fine as a native application. If it's an Android tablet, you could try installing WINE. I'm not sure if or how well it supports Direct3D on Android, though.
__________________
Cilraaz Xraktz
40 Iksar Monk
Arranla <Kittens Who Say Meow>
34 Erudite Enchanter
P99 Blue
  #6  
Old 02-26-2019, 12:11 AM
Tethler Tethler is offline
Planar Protector

Tethler's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,944
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cilraaz [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
If it's a Windows tablet, it should work fine as a native application. If it's an Android tablet, you could try installing WINE. I'm not sure if or how well it supports Direct3D on Android, though.
Yeah, it's an android. I'll look into that. Thanks for the link [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
  #7  
Old 02-26-2019, 06:23 AM
AbstractVision AbstractVision is offline
Sarnak

AbstractVision's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: VA Beach
Posts: 229
Default

Yeah I run it on a windows 8.1 tablet just fine, little laggy during raids but thats about it. It should work with WINE on a newer android tablet. Highly recommend a bluetooth keyboard and mouse.
  #8  
Old 03-01-2019, 11:26 PM
I Felt Nostalgic I Felt Nostalgic is offline
Sarnak

I Felt Nostalgic's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Kurn's Tower
Posts: 241
Default

It works on my Nvidia Shield Tablet just fine.
  #9  
Old 03-02-2019, 01:42 AM
elwing elwing is offline
Planar Protector


Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,176
Default

I'd just leave that there...
https://www.gpd.hk/gdpwin2
  #10  
Old 03-02-2019, 01:49 AM
Tethler Tethler is offline
Planar Protector

Tethler's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Japan
Posts: 1,944
Default

Awesome, thanks for the feedback. I'll try WINE and give it a shot. My tablet is a few years old, so maybe it's a bit slow. I do have a bluetooth keyboard with touchpad I'd use if I can get it working.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:53 AM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.