Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-20-2019, 09:48 AM
XegonyForever XegonyForever is offline
Large Rat


Join Date: May 2010
Location: Plymouth, MA, USA
Posts: 8
Default having trouble getting up and running

I've been playing p99 off and on since 2010, and on my latest re-installation of the game, I'm encountering weird errors I've never seen before.

Launch Titanium.bat seems unable to find the folder that I installed Titanium into, by default. It says, "Windows cannot find 'eqgame'. Make sure you typed the name correctly, and then try again." It shows a command prompt where it's trying to execute in C:\WINDOWS\system32 folder.

I edited the shortcut in the .bat file to point to the exact path of the file in my installation folder:

start C:\EQEmu\eqgame.exe patchme

This seems to allow the destination to be found, but rather than loading, it just produces the error message, "Please delete wsock32.dll and eqgame.dll from your EverQuest Titanium directory."

As it turns out, neither of these files were in my Titanium directory in the first place. Furthermore, eqgame.dll isn't on my computer at all, in any directory, and I have a live EQ installation that I use on a regular basis that doesn't have it, either, so I don't know what that's about...

However, wsock32.dll exists in the C:\WINDOWS\system32 folder. That's part of the OS and I'm not planning to delete that, so I'm left a bit stuck...

I literally just installed and patched, so I don't know if I would stand to benefit at all from reinstalling, but I guess I could try that again. I've never encountered these errors before, though, so it leads me to believe that something else is amiss here.

Any suggestions?

I'm running Windows 10. Tried running with all files in both regular mode and Compatibility Mode for Windows XP SP3, which is what I've always used in the past.

Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-20-2019, 10:08 AM
XegonyForever XegonyForever is offline
Large Rat


Join Date: May 2010
Location: Plymouth, MA, USA
Posts: 8
Default

I was able to make it work by just making a shortcut that has eqgame.exe patchme

Not sure why the Launch batch file is malfunctioning, but as long as I can get in, I don't really care how!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.