Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Blue Community > Blue Server Chat

Closed Thread

Old 10-25-2013, 11:08 PM
Orc

Default Map viewer utility

Hey all. I've been working very hard to get this program working and looking well enough to present it lol...there are other map viewing programs but what they seem to lack is the ability to plot your location and / or another location on the map. The program is completely passive and does NOT interact with the EQ client in any way - your /loc must be manually entered in order to plot it to the map. Not sure how useful this will be to anyone, but for me it is mostly for CR's. i tried to make the interface as simple and intuitive as possible. Panning is done by dragging the map around in the frame. This is a little finnicky because I've never coded anything like that before. Only thing you should take note of is if you alt-tab to and from the program it clears the map: just click on the map and it renders it again. I've included two uploads: one is the program and map files, the other is the entire VB.NET 2010 project. This does require .net framework 4.0 to run. I'm happy to answer any questions that you have. If anyone wants to run a virus scan on this and post it, that'd be helpful. I would do it, but I don't see what that would accomplish, lol.

ETA: Mods, if you feel like this is against the rules, by all means, delete it. Figured I'd share a helpful utility, hopefully it isn't something that'll be frowned upon.

ETA2: ****There is now an option to read from EQ Log files. Simply click the 'Choose Log' button then check the 'Read Logs' checkbox and /loc in game. It will plot your current location (read from the LOG file, not directly interacting with EQ in any way).