Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Off Topic

Closed Thread

Old 10-06-2021, 02:17 PM
Skeleton

Post Tales from a lawfirm

Hi all,

I work as a lawyer here in Canada at a firm that specializes in residential tenancy law.

I'm a new call, so I've only been at it a year or so. I've got a bunch of wacky cases that make for fun stories with friends and family.

Thought I'd share some here when things are slow at the office. Let me know what you think!

*for confidentiality reasons, I remove or change sensitive details. All quotes are paraphrases, so don't take anything too literally.

** I cannot offer any legal advice, and none of this is intended to be proffered that way. But feel free to ask your law-related questions and I (or others) will try to see how the law may treat someone in your position!
Old 10-06-2021, 02:18 PM
Skeleton

An expensive text:

Here's the story of a single message that cost a landlord over $8,000.

So I get a call from a landlord (LL) - he's panicking cause he's being sued by a couple after he refused to rent to them. He says they're trying to sue him for $30,000 on human rights grounds, alleging he discriminated against them because they are a gay couple. LL's swearing up and down he's not a homophobe and he didn't refuse them because they were gay etc. He's frantic but I manage to calm him down and we talk about what happened.

He tells me he put a rent ad up on social media and got contacted by a prospective tenant (PT). PT says they are a family looking to rent, their last landlord was selling the house so they had to find a new place to rent. Their conversation went well until LL asked PT to send over some documents (usual proof of identity, proof of employment, pay stubs, past landlord references, all that). Once LL gets those docs, LL starts to vet them. Huge red flags start popping up: