Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Closed Thread

Old 04-18-2014, 10:31 AM
Aviak

Cool Hello everyone! First time EQ player here.

Hi, I'm Zehrikrom and I'm completely new to the EverQuest series.
I played World of Warcraft since patch 4.2, but I never was able to cough up the money to subscribe for more than a month. My WoW experience ended after figuring out that literally everything in the game worth mentioning happened at level cap. I then switched to DDO for a while, but the whole click to attack mechanism drove me away, it felt odd in an MMO. Eventually I found a vanilla WoW server, Emerald Dream, that provided 1x rates on everything, but surprise! Everyone, or almost everyone, still had the mentality that if you were below level cap, you were a failure in life and should uninstall, level up, or kill yourself. It was fun though, and I met some wonderful people on the server.

In the end, I looked for another MMO that had more to offer in the middle of the road level wise. That's how I came across Project 1999.

So far, my Iksar Shaman is level 3, I died 5 times so far, four of which were from fall damage. This game is terribly, soul crushingly, brutally hard.
And I'm loving every minute of it.
Old 04-18-2014, 10:53 AM
Fire Giant

Welcome good sir! If you need a helpful guild, look for me in game. Can get you on the right path [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Old 04-18-2014, 10:58 AM
Skeleton

The first time you LOSE A LEVEL from dying you will realize just exactly how soul crushing this game is hehehehe. I remember I had to DING level 24 seven times on the live servers before I kept it.

Bad groups, bad pulls, bad decisions.... whatever, but you keep on playing. EverCrack is a helluva drug.
Old 04-18-2014, 11:11 AM
Orc

welcome to you!!! like i said wait till you are with a group deep in a dungeon and its late and you say 1 more mob before logging off and you wipe... lol
Old 04-18-2014, 11:57 AM