Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Server Issues > Resolved Issues

Closed Thread

Old 02-03-2015, 09:03 PM
Kobold

Default Misty Thicket - Ruined Walls

So its always kinda bothered me when I started playing on p99 that Misty Thicket had these ruined walls near the entrance to Rivervale. Never made a post about it because I assumed nothing could be done about them since they are part of the zone. Back on live I leveled all my characters in Misty Thicket and loved it. I started playing like 2 weeks after Luclin came out. I used the zone a ton though and remember when the Misty Thicket "update" happened in 2002 that added some new spawns. I remember not liking the new "ruins" that they added at the time.

I don't really have any solid proof that the walls did not exist before except my memory. I did find this post in they April 4th, 2002 patch notes.
Quote:
Not far from the tunnel that leads from the Misty Thicket to Rivervale lie mysterious cursed ruins. All that remains of what once stood at these sites are fragments of walls that are presumed to have been constructed around the same time as the nearby ruined tower. An ancient magical scarecrow stands at the center of one of these ruins and warns passers by that the place is cursed. It is a popular belief among the halflings of Rivervale that the crumbled walls once surrounded beautiful and fruitful gardens that were cursed when their owner and caretaker offended the Gods. Whether or not this story is true, the scarecrows warning is true as the gardens are host to diseased vermin and the animated corpses of fallen halflings who were brought to the there and buried after their death by an unknown evil.
I swear thoses walls were retcon'ed in, when they say they were "constructed around the same time as the nearby ruined tower". They did not exist before this patch and were added to add more camps to this zone.

Location 7 and 14 on the map from the wiki.