Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Starting Zone

Closed Thread

Old 06-06-2020, 09:24 PM
Decaying Skeleton

Default New Monk on Green ; gear and making money questions

Hail fellow Norrathians,

I'm a returning player from the early days of Everquest ~early 2000s and excited to jump into the classic version of the game again as I remember from my young.

I rolled a human monk in the good ol town of Freeport like my first ever character and boy is this a culture shock from modern games today.

I just started playing so I know there will be a learning curve and grind until I can start making enough plat to gear appropriately, but the biggest hurdle for my monk is the pesky weight limit.

I was able to buy 2 medicine bags with my first plats, so that helps for inventory management, however even my cloth gear is weighing me down.

Someone recommended I save up for a set of Cured Silk.

My question is, how much would a full set of Cured Silk go for and what type of 1HB weapons should I be keeping my eyes out for. Same goes for Jewelry.

I am slowly building gold from the weapons I sell, but even the money weighs me down, jeez, so I've been inching to spend my growing pockets on bits and pieces here and there, I just don't know where to start. Also, is there a better way to make money in early levels; I started saving bone chips to sell but no one has taken me up on the offer in the short time I've played.

Anyways, any help/guidance is appreciated and look forward to working my way back to raids eventually. Thanks!
Old 06-07-2020, 10:54 AM
Sarnak

In your super early levels, don't worry as much about the weight thing, especially if your first toon is the monk. Load up on those rusty weapons and sell away!

Super newbie monks should be DW'ing Cracked Staves I've heard. Cured silk would be good to save up for, but I don't think it's too hard to make some Raw Silk while you're waiting and it's pretty low-weight, too.