Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Class Discussions > Tanks

Closed Thread

Old 07-01-2012, 11:46 AM
Large Rat

Default What is the best aoe/multiple target tank?

hi, i am new to everquest and just made my first eQ character. what class is best for multiple-target tanking?
paladin or warrior? i do not want to play a shadowknight since they are evil and i will get attacked. so i want to play
either a warrior or pally. which one has the better defense and which can hold multiple targets? which is the best all around
for multiple target tanking is basically what im asking.
Old 07-01-2012, 04:59 PM
Scrawny Gnoll

They're all good at taking damage, if that's what you're asking. At later levels, the warrior distinguishes himself slightly in regards to damage mitigation. The problem with warrior is his ability to gain and retain aggro is lacking, in relation to the pally and especially the sk, who has the best snap aggro. With paladin, you'll be able to attract aggro with your blind spell and later on, your stuns. If making a warrior, try to invest in a couple Osidian Shards, or other similar proc'ing weapons. They attract a lot of aggro.

As far as holding the attention of adds, a lot of that relies on the rest of your group, whether or not they're assisting you, if there's a good CC player, etc. Grab the attention of mobs if you can, but focus on taking down one target at a time. Otherwise, you're wasting healer mana.
Old 07-01-2012, 10:03 PM
Sarnak