Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Class Discussions > Priests

Closed Thread

Old 02-02-2012, 12:36 PM
Sarnak

Default Cleric guide?

Long time EQ player here, it's been a few years but I'm trying it again. I want to try out a cleric because I've never done it before. I was thinking about being a halfling. Is this a good choice? What is some good newbie gear that I can easily get? And finally, what's the easiest way from Misty Thicket to Qeynos?
Old 02-02-2012, 02:04 PM
Planar Protector

Halflings get an xp bonus, so it's a great choice! Dwarf might not be bad either, as they have a higher str value so you can carry more...something that is important for people just starting as you'll want to carry every item you can to sell in order to save up for lowbie gear.

At first you can make patchwork leather armor from animal pelts, and fill in other slots with small bronze as you can find/afford it. If you start in rivervale you can zone into kithicor and /shout to see if any high level is around that will kill the undead that drop a nice nodrop mace.

Why do you want to go to qeynos? If you're in rivervale i'd highly recommend getting a couple levels in your newb area, and then running to EC. You might get a couple of handouts in the form of equipment/buffs to help you level, and there are usually low level orc groups around to join.

check out this page:
http://wiki.project1999.org/index.php/Cleric
Old 02-02-2012, 07:16 PM
Planar Protector

Halflings are alpha race
Old 02-03-2012, 11:01 AM
Sarnak

Thanks Extunarian. I followed the guide there for spending stat points. Do you happen to know what that nodrop mace you mentioned is called?

I have always wanted to play a halfling, and I'm a member of a new group of people playing, and they're all centered around Qeynos right now. I also know that part of the world well from the live servers. But MT is a great starting zone, I think I may hang there for a while.
Old 02-03-2012, 11:10 AM
Sarnak