Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Rants and Flames

Closed Thread

Old 09-18-2021, 10:22 PM
Planar Protector

Exclamation Culture - troll vs. ogre?

Never played as either of these ugly evil races, but the more I troll these forums the more I'm wanting to get back in game. With red basically being a single-player game, shaman seems like the class to play.

Stats don't matter, racials don't matter. How do these two races compare culturally? I know they're sorta allied with the dark elves which is neat. Trolls always seems more cruel and evil, while ogres are just goofy and like to smash things lol.

Obviously iksar are the coolest shaman but I wanna try something I've never done before in this old af game.

thoughts?????
Old 09-18-2021, 10:34 PM
Planar Protector

Question

how do the cities of grobb and oggok "feel" when your characters have grown up there?
Old 09-18-2021, 10:44 PM
Large Bat

I think ogres are the better option. Trolls were always just big smelly fat swamp dwellers. Ogres used to be not only one of the most physically strongest races, but also one of the most intelligent and magically powerful races, on par with erudites. They're dumb now because they were cursed along with the other creations of Rallos Zek for raiding the other planes and killing gods. Look up Lore of Norrath on the wiki and go to The Fall of Rallos Zek and His Children if you want to know more. You could make your ogre shaman worship Rallos Zek and RP him as being spared from the curse due to being one of Zek's chosen or something like that. Lots of potential there.
Old 09-18-2021, 11:01 PM
Planar Protector

No question ogres have better actual RP potential while trolls are exactly what they are, trolls. If you wanna be a troll they’re your best bet. Ogre culture was once great and is still more peaceful and kind by comparison.
Lost but not forgotten.
Old 09-18-2021, 11:27 PM
Kobold