Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Class Discussions > Melee

Closed Thread

Old 09-04-2018, 02:45 AM
Orc

Default Bard ramblings

So I’ve been playing p99 off and on for a few years now, never really progressing into the “late game”. I’ve finally managed to get my bard up to 54, probably because of the ease and speed of swarm kiting. Not to worry though, I’ve spent plenty of time in groups as well. Pulling, mezzing, regening, even occasionally dpsing. I love my bard and I really enjoy using the power of song to help my group mates perform well, massacring the same poor mobs for hours on end.

One thing that has bothered me, however, is the sort of immersion breaking idea of twisting my songs. If you heard a guy singing four different songs at once, alternating between them every 3-4 seconds, whipping out his tambourine then suddenly replacing it with a lute moments later it would, to be frank, sound like shit. While this hasn’t stopped me from reveling in the joys of twisting and all the fun things it allows us bards to do, I’ve wondered if there isn’t a better way to represent the songs themselves as they are being twisted.