Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Old 10-02-2016, 04:51 AM
Large Rat

Thumbs up Classic UI

Yeah, I know, probably another one of these...

I basically just installed Project 1999 and it's my first time jumping back in since the release of SoL, when I played a half-elf rogue on Karana and stopped a few weeks after SoL came out. So HI everyone o/
I know this isn't a presentation thread, but since I haven't posted yet I thought I'd do a quick one. So I wanted to ask : I seem to understand the really old classic UI is gone and there wouldn't be a way to have it back ? I can't seem to understand why, cause I remember it being an option in Project 1999 not that long ago ? Could someone care to explain to me ? Also is there really *no way* as of today to play with that old UI, and I don't mean through the classic UI skin ? Via some sort of modding I don't know ? I really really miss it, and as archaic and impractical that UI was it's completely tied with my nostalgia and souvenirs of when. I'm even considering modding it in myself but I have close to no experience in that and don't know if I could get the same result as the true original classic one ('cause as good a job the classic UI skin is, it's not really up there yet enough for me and might as well play with qquimelee).
Old 10-02-2016, 12:13 PM
Planar Protector

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitoo [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I seem to understand the really old classic UI is gone and there wouldn't be a way to have it back?
Pretty much. Verant wiped it from existence after Velious was released, but technically you could go find an original copy of the very first EQ release and start disassembling the game files and recreate it from that data.

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitoo [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]