Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101  
Old 01-20-2018, 06:32 PM
loramin loramin is online now
Planar Protector

loramin's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3,827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulgiamatti [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Sure, I'll upload them and post the link here later tonight.

Also made some minor updates to patch_s3d_textures.bat:
  • Made the backup purge process check for the existence of backups before purging
  • Deleted a couple unnecessary duplicate call entries for qey2hh1_chr and qey2hh1_obj
  • Alphabetized all call entries for easier editing
  • Cleaned up comment lines a bit for readability

https://www.dropbox.com/s/2ozd2bs3fj...ncypatcher.zip
Not to sound ungrateful, but it looks like the executables don't work so well on Linux with WINE:

> ~/Desktop/EverQuest $ wine patch_s3d_textures.bat
wine: Bad EXE format for Z:\home\me\Desktop\EverQuest\patch_s3d_textures.ba t.

> ~/Desktop/EverQuest $ wine transpfx.exe
transpfx.exe: Invalid input or no file found


Is there any way to get the latest updates and just copy/paste them in to my EQ folder?
__________________

Loramin Frostseer, Oracle of the Tribunal <Anonymous>
The wiki's Per-Level/Treasure Guides have hundreds of places to earn XP or plat.
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 01-20-2018, 06:49 PM
paulgiamatti paulgiamatti is offline
Planar Protector


Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: minneapolis belongs to me
Posts: 1,995
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by loramin [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Is there any way to get the latest updates and just copy/paste them in to my EQ folder?
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulgiamatti [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vile [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Tried running the bat through advanced Wineskin options but no dice... is it possible someone could send a zip of the updated files to drop in the EQ folder?
Sure, I'll upload them and post the link here later tonight.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 01-20-2018, 07:13 PM
paulgiamatti paulgiamatti is offline
Planar Protector


Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: minneapolis belongs to me
Posts: 1,995
Default

As promised:

High-resolution patched textures: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1T9...Ciw12hFSRzukhl

Low-resolution patched textures: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Ge...ExxyFRv-EDDckg

If you use the high-resolution zone textures that are downloaded separately, use the first link (note: chances are that a lot of P99 clients on the bay are using these). If you use the default Titanium low-resolution textures, use the second link.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 01-20-2018, 07:52 PM
loramin loramin is online now
Planar Protector

loramin's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3,827
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulgiamatti [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
As promised:

High-resolution patched textures: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1T9...Ciw12hFSRzukhl
Thanks!
__________________

Loramin Frostseer, Oracle of the Tribunal <Anonymous>
The wiki's Per-Level/Treasure Guides have hundreds of places to earn XP or plat.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 01-20-2018, 08:33 PM
Zaela Zaela is offline
Sarnak


Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 318
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by loramin [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Not to sound ungrateful, but it looks like the executables don't work so well on Linux with WINE:

> ~/Desktop/EverQuest $ wine patch_s3d_textures.bat
wine: Bad EXE format for Z:\home\me\Desktop\EverQuest\patch_s3d_textures.ba t.

> ~/Desktop/EverQuest $ wine transpfx.exe
transpfx.exe: Invalid input or no file found
For future reference: .bat is not an executable format in the first place, they are scripts interpreted by cmd.exe. So you'd need to have wine run cmd.exe, then run patch_s3d_textures.bat at the cmd.exe prompt:

Code:
wine cmd.exe
patch_s3d_textures.bat
Based on your pasted output transpfx.exe ran fine under Wine, you just didn't give it any input. The .bat script just calls transpfx.exe repeatedly with different input strings.
Reply With Quote
  #106  
Old 01-20-2018, 08:49 PM
paulgiamatti paulgiamatti is offline
Planar Protector


Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: minneapolis belongs to me
Posts: 1,995
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaela [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
For future reference: .bat is not an executable format in the first place, they are scripts interpreted by cmd.exe. So you'd need to have wine run cmd.exe, then run patch_s3d_textures.bat at the cmd.exe prompt:
Ah yes, it's a bit unintuitive running a command line batch script in a non-Windows OS, I didn't really think about that. Probably the same issue Vile was experiencing.
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 01-20-2018, 10:06 PM
Zaela Zaela is offline
Sarnak


Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 318
Default

I noticed wine's version of cmd.exe was choking on patch_s3d_textures.bat when I followed my own instructions... so I made an equivalent bash script:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/sx9j53qd9g..._linux.sh?dl=0

To run:
Code:
sh patch_s3d_textures_linux.sh
or
Code:
chmod +x patch_s3d_textures_linux.sh
./patch_s3d_textures_linux.sh
Also noticed a typo on line 162 of the .bat script, missing "bmp" at the end of the line:
Code:
set rt_nektulos_chr=ngmft0001.bmp,ngmft0002.bmp,ngmft0101.bmp,ngmft0102.
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 01-20-2018, 10:15 PM
paulgiamatti paulgiamatti is offline
Planar Protector


Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: minneapolis belongs to me
Posts: 1,995
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaela [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Also noticed a typo on line 162 of the .bat script, missing "bmp" at the end of the line:
Code:
set rt_nektulos_chr=ngmft0001.bmp,ngmft0002.bmp,ngmft0101.bmp,ngmft0102.
Fixed and reuploaded: https://www.dropbox.com/s/2ozd2bs3fj...ncypatcher.zip
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 01-20-2018, 10:16 PM
Vile Vile is offline
Planar Protector

Vile's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulgiamatti [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
As promised:

High-resolution patched textures: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1T9...Ciw12hFSRzukhl

Low-resolution patched textures: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1Ge...ExxyFRv-EDDckg

If you use the high-resolution zone textures that are downloaded separately, use the first link (note: chances are that a lot of P99 clients on the bay are using these). If you use the default Titanium low-resolution textures, use the second link.
Awesome man.. gonna test them out now! Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 01-20-2018, 10:17 PM
Vile Vile is offline
Planar Protector

Vile's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,296
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paulgiamatti [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Ah yes, it's a bit unintuitive running a command line batch script in a non-Windows OS, I didn't really think about that. Probably the same issue Vile was experiencing.
Yea cmd.exe was basically dying..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.