Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Blue Community > Blue Server Chat

Closed Thread

Old 07-26-2018, 11:03 PM
Scrawny Gnoll

Default Karana Plague Discussion

The Karana Plague was always something I remembered fondly from live. It was active when I started playing the game in 2001 and as all of my characters back then were from Qeynos I spent a lot of time in the zones that were effected by it.

Fast forward 12 years and I discover P99 and my love for classic EQ starts all over again. However when I started in 2013, I could not find any information on the internet about this Karana Plague and the majority of the people who I asked if they remembered it in game had no idea what I was talking about. I started to wonder if this was some sort of event that happened on my server only or if I was actually crazy and had just imagined the entire thing.

Then one day I had returned from one of my extended breaks of p99 and by coincidence I was passing through North Karana when I noticed the message "your skin feels itchy". Excitedly I look up to the sky and notice it is green, turns out I was not imagining this afterall.

So the reason for this post is that I am trying to piece together all the information I can to do with this event before it is finished. I believe it will end once the Chardok 2.0 patch goes live and as far as I am aware that patch could drop any day now so I want to try and see or do as much of this stuff as I can before it is too late. Here are some of the things I have found so far, but please I encourage anyone reading this to add anything and everything that they might think relates to the Karana Plague event.
  • The event was triggered by the awakening of the sleeper? I have read this a few places around the internet saying that is what triggered the event during classic. I was not actively playing when the sleeper awoke on p99 can anyone either confirm or deny if this happened on our server?