Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > General Community > Technical Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2021, 10:47 AM
Widem Widem is offline
Skeleton


Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 17
Default Screen Freezes

I have been experiencing times where my screen just completely freezes. I can still hear actions going on around me, but it forces me to restart the client.

I have researched the issue and some of the suggested fixes which do not work are:

Shift+Enter to move in and out of windowed mode. (This causes an error which does crash the program.)
Adjusting clipping planes. (Crashes Continue)

I know many other people have verified this happens to them with varying degrees of frequency.

Is this something I will just have to live with or is this a known issue which I just can't seem to find how to resolve the problem?

I appreciate any input and thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-19-2021, 11:39 PM
fastboy21 fastboy21 is offline
Planar Protector

fastboy21's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,173
Default

No, it isn't normal for your game to freeze frequently on p99. There are some annoying bugs on p99 that resurface...but this would be game breaking if it were happening to many people the way you described it.

I'd try the usual suspects, then try a fresh install and reboot.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-20-2021, 01:04 AM
Lich Lich is offline
Kobold

Lich's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 128
Default

https://www.project1999.com/forums/s...d.php?t=342786

https://www.project1999.com/forums/s...d.php?t=388079
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-20-2021, 01:43 AM
fastboy21 fastboy21 is offline
Planar Protector

fastboy21's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,173
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lich [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Lifting from the second link (the first talks about swapping to full screen which the OP said does nothing for him):

Quote:
Originally Posted by lituviel [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
It seems like alot of people have the same problem, which is :

Main fix is in the eqclient.ini
I modified the setting for these 2 lanes :
MultiPassLighting=0
ShowDynamicLights=FALSE

Since the, no more crashes.
Worth what it worth.
Might fix yours aswell.
Sounds like a possible fix for the OP...hope it works!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-20-2021, 02:56 AM
void221 void221 is offline
Orc

void221's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Germany
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastboy21 [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Lifting from the second link (the first talks about swapping to full screen which the OP said does nothing for him):



Sounds like a possible fix for the OP...hope it works!

I try this now for some days and have not a freeze yet.
I play without WinEQ2 and in Windowmode.
I play also on 2 different Computers.

good luck
__________________
"I wonder if you even get any enjoyment out of the game when you worry so much about perfect effectiveness. Maybe you should play something else" - rewinder47
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-20-2021, 05:35 AM
Jerri Jerri is offline
Kobold

Jerri's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Widem [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I have been experiencing times where my screen just completely freezes. I can still hear actions going on around me, but it forces me to restart the client.
It is a bug that has been around for a long time. There are various numbers of "suggested fixes" and as you point out, none of them work.

It would be nice for them to fix it, but I don't see that ever happening, just live with it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-21-2021, 09:34 AM
Widem Widem is offline
Skeleton


Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 17
Default

I made 2 adjustments were were suggested in other threads.

Main fix is in the eqclient.ini
I modified the setting for these 2 lanes :
MultiPassLighting=0
ShowDynamicLights=FALSE

and since i have an nvidia card

Right click Desktop
NVIDIA Control Panel
Manage 3D Settings
Program Settings
Select or add Everquest (eqgame.exe)
Shader Cache Off

I have not had a freeze in about 10 hours of gameplay. I hope this was permanent. If the problem persists I will update everyone and thanks for all the work that has gone into try to solve this.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-22-2021, 02:00 AM
Jerri Jerri is offline
Kobold

Jerri's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Australia
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Widem [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I have not had a freeze in about 10 hours of gameplay. I hope this was permanent. If the problem persists I will update everyone and thanks for all the work that has gone into try to solve this.
How's the game play? I'm curious to know if you have fixed the video crashes?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.