Project 1999

Go Back   Project 1999 > Important > Library

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #71  
Old 08-09-2010, 03:36 AM
Neuroscar Neuroscar is offline
Skeleton

Neuroscar's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Default

I have no idea if its already been asked and it will take TOO much time to search for the topics hehe.
Could anyone tell me if downloading/using maps (other than the starting areas) is prohibited?
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 08-09-2010, 02:34 PM
acrisius acrisius is offline
Scrawny Gnoll


Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 20
Default

The easiest way to deal with resolution issuses is to start with something basic like 800x600 the every system(monitor) should accept. then once ingame just alt-o and adjust to something that works there. Also as it was mentioned a few times here is windowed mode ftw.

Neuro,
Downloading them wont help you much they are disabled in those zones whether or not you have the files.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 08-10-2010, 02:48 AM
Evilmog Evilmog is offline
Kobold


Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neuroscar [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I have no idea if its already been asked and it will take TOO much time to search for the topics hehe.
Could anyone tell me if downloading/using maps (other than the starting areas) is prohibited?
I think the map function regardless is removed from the zones, the Titanium package should've included all the maps (Seeing how maps came in around LoY and were basicly given to everyone around PoR), just be happy the starting areas have them, cause the Map feature sure as hell isn't classic.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 08-11-2010, 10:04 AM
mgellan mgellan is offline
Fire Giant

mgellan's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Winnipeg Canada
Posts: 880
Default

Need to add the following:

Technical issues:


Q. My client is crashing to Desktop before it gets to character select screen!

The Options menu does not display all of the odd screen resolutions we see these days so if you need something like 1280x800 it won't appear in the list on Options. If you pick the closest one (eq 1280x960) BOOM EQ wouldn't get past server select. The solution is to get into the file \Program Files\Sony\Everquest\eqclient.ini (or whereever you installed Everquest) and modify the section that looks like this:

[VideoMode]
WindowedWidth=1280
WindowedHeight=800
Width=1280
Height=800
FullscreenBitsPerPixel=32
FullscreenRefreshRate=0
WidthWindowed=1280
HeightWindowed=800

Obviously replace 1280x800 with whatever your screen resolution is (rt click on screen, Properties, Settings, Screen Resolution slider) and you should be good to go.
__________________

OMNI Officer (Retired from EQ)
Check out my P99 Hunting Guide!
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 08-15-2010, 05:29 AM
Pyrocat Pyrocat is offline
Planar Protector

Pyrocat's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,936
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgellan [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Need to add the following:

Technical issues:


Q. My client is crashing to Desktop before it gets to character select screen!

The Options menu does not display all of the odd screen resolutions we see these days so if you need something like 1280x800 it won't appear in the list on Options. If you pick the closest one (eq 1280x960) BOOM EQ wouldn't get past server select. The solution is to get into the file \Program Files\Sony\Everquest\eqclient.ini (or whereever you installed Everquest) and modify the section that looks like this:

[VideoMode]
WindowedWidth=1280
WindowedHeight=800
Width=1280
Height=800
FullscreenBitsPerPixel=32
FullscreenRefreshRate=0
WidthWindowed=1280
HeightWindowed=800

Obviously replace 1280x800 with whatever your screen resolution is (rt click on screen, Properties, Settings, Screen Resolution slider) and you should be good to go.
While I appreciate the thoroughness, I think this would be better served as a thread/sticky in the technical forum. If I start adding technical issues/fixes to the FAQ it would explode in size and I don't want to manage that.
__________________
Pyrocat the Protector of Vul
Proud member of The Safehouse since 2000
Pyrocat (60 TRL SHM) Orochi (60 IKS NEC)
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 09-06-2010, 10:21 PM
Ymierox Ymierox is offline
Decaying Skeleton


Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Default ...?..??...?!?!!!

Blah Blah...blah...WHAT -EXP AGAIN!!?!

The only thing i dont understand about this is the purpose it is supposed to serve it was originally passed as a bug eventually...what is the point of punishing certain classes for playing that class? i could rant on for hours about this subject but i will try to keep it short...

It makes no sense to have certain classes and races have a -exp bonus first of all some of the (what are supposed to be) hybrid classes arent really hybrids the casters all use each others spells but that doesnt make them hybrid its just like learning some of your first spelsl in D&D (fireball being the most common one). Just because they all use fireball does not meen that they are being hybrids...I could be a warlock and use fireball just like a mage could use a fireball. Warlocks are generally considered evil where as mages are generally considered good. These two types of magic users hate each other and use different methods to cast their spells.

As far as melee classes go first of all bards are not hybrids songs arent really spells in my opinion bards are sort of their own thing. Monks are also their own thing what other class uses their fists more than any other weapon in combat? they dont even have spells the only thing they have in common with other classes is FD and even those are used as spells on the only other two classes that can use it. SKs are sort of a hybrid but they dont really use spells from any other types of magic users as far as a i know (i didnt play this class to a very high level).

What purpose does it serve to have certain races and classes at a disadvantage to other races and classes? There is no point to make these classes and races less played all it does is makes people mad because they cant figure out why their halfing rogue friend is leveling 2X faster than them.

Although i do appreciate this server for bringing back EQ i don't appreciate the server managers adding what was passed off as a bug in the original game.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 09-07-2010, 12:13 PM
Omica Omica is offline
Aviak

Omica's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ymierox [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
.
I have a headache now.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 09-07-2010, 07:40 PM
ojamajoe ojamajoe is offline
Scrawny Gnoll


Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
What purpose does it serve to have certain races and classes at a disadvantage to other races and classes?
Well, the obvious purpose would be to make these certain classes rarer at max level. Which I think is brilliant, but really seems to piss a lot of people off!
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 09-07-2010, 08:31 PM
Atarius Atarius is offline
Scrawny Gnoll


Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Omica [You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
I have a headache now.
I second that.

But it is nice to know that EQ has no true hybrids and monks use fists in combat. Which is different than any other weapon imaginable


[You must be logged in to view images. Log in or Register.]
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 09-11-2010, 02:44 AM
molay molay is offline
Skeleton


Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 16
Default

What is the situation with resists?
People have been telling me it is broken...
I don't know if charm is resist based, but I do see much more charming here than I did back in the day.
Is there any point to me collecting resist gear?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Everquest is a registered trademark of Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Project 1999 is not associated or affiliated in any way with Daybreak Game Company LLC.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.